Feathered Friday Takes Flight

in #featheredfriday5 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the very first #featheredfriday.

Every week I'm going to share some of my bird photography, and I invite you all to participate by sharing yours. Let's see your birds!

To participate, make your own post and use the tag #featheredfriday. Please leave me a link to your post in the comments to this post - that will make it easy for me to find and others will discover your work here as well. This is not a contest, but you will still "win" by getting upvotes and resteems for your post.

Without further ado, here are some shots I took today. I'll do my best to identify the birds - most of these are easy. If I get any wrong, don't be afraid to let me know.

Black Oystercatcher
5kl5zgq8bz.jpg

European Herring Gull - notice this one has a band
9rcf8gjbgy.jpg

Crow - can you tell me which kind?
e58zitptax.jpg

Glaucous-winged Gull
fqm5s9pgpj.jpg

American Wigeon
dij20us6vq.jpg

Red-breasted Merganser
0o0mqobjq2.jpg

Thanks for taking a look, my friends! Remember to click for a full-screen view...

Now let's see what you got!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks very much, @pixresteemer!

What a diverse grouping of shots.... wonderful!

I was introduced to you by @melinda010100 who told me to paste a link to one of my latest posts here....I did not know about the #featherfriday tag so it is not on my post, but attaching the link anyway! Enjoy!

https://steemit.com/life/@thistle-rock/the-canada-jay

Hello @thistle-rock! Greetings from Victoria, BC. It's great to see your post! You may also want to use the tag #birding - it's not mine, but many bird fans are using that tag for more exposure. Thank you for posting!

Thanks so much @keithboone, I will do that the next time I post a bird story 😊

Fabulous first out and about!

Your red-headed girl there is a female red-breasted merganser. This is going to be a lot of fun and I intend on working on my bird shots, so don't be surprised to see me. :)

I wish you well and I really feel like this is wide open for many people to participate!

Uppedand Steemed

!tip

Still below 40% on my voting power. Take a tip and I'll take you home to try to make up. I said that wrong, but, you know what I mean.

Thank you so much, Denise. We won't tell Cathy about you "taking me home to make up" Oh wait, she reads my blog! Yikes! :)

I appreciate the tip! I hope this challenge takes off - many people take bird photos, and I've just noticed some upvotes from a couple of serious birdwatching accounts. Yay!

That's a great start!

Tell Cathy I said hello. ;))

🎁 Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Sea Is Calling And Sailing On Tall Ships Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I love the pinkish orange of the legs of these Black Oystercatchers. Love the raucous call notes too.

Thank you very much! I'll have to pay more attention to their sounds. Today I only saw one, and if he was calling it was drowned out by all the gulls!

Nice to see the new tag underway. You got some great bird captures, Keith. Resteemed.

My link: https://steemit.com/featheredfriday/@redheadpei/feathered-friday-junco-414378240a642
153F67B8-2D16-4D80-9988-A8104BA1BB6D.jpeg

I'm so happy you posted, @redheadpei! Love your Junco!

Most welcome Keith and thanks for the challenge. 😊

As a bird lover, I really like this initiative! Hopefully I will enter sometime :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Excellent, thank you! You are welcome to enter!

I'm so excited about this challenge! I finally got the Shadow Contest winner payouts done and now I'm going to look for birds!

ok....done! Here is mine. https://steemit.com/esteem/@melinda010100/feathered-friday-f67ec3e1ac8b5

image

That's great, Melinda - thank you! What a beauty! Wow!

Beautiful nature, great job.

Thanks very much!

This is a great idea! By the way, @birdbanter created @birdsoftsteem with the objective of giving more exposure to the birders out here, we've been using the birding tag; don't know if you already knew, since I see you use that tag as well, just wanted to share the information! The more birds, the better! ;)

Thank you, I believe that's where I learned of the tag.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85