Goose grass as a design source for textiles...

in #fiberartists6 years ago (edited)

It all started with this photo:

The photo above is a more stylised version of the more normal view I get of goose grass growing on our land :

I have used the first photo already in my post about my embroidery design in #needleworkmonday. I was happy with the result, but only told part of the story behind it. Here's the other part.

I like goose grass because it’s easy to pull even when quite dry. I actually like playing with it; after pulling it I can make all sorts of shapes but the easiest is just a circle which I then throw like a frisbee - I used to do this when entertaining the children.

One thing I found interesting reading about goose grass is that it can actually be eaten not only in salads but also a coffee substitute can also be made from it.

You can read more about its herbal and culinary uses here and here.

Please let me know if you have tried it, particularly the coffee substitute. I may actually investigate that use further 😉



Anyhow, I was waiting as usual for one of the daughters at a doctor's waiting room, and there was a magazine I started thumbing through to pass the time. Guess what I find.

The design above appeared in the May issue of Good Housekeeping, so it’s nearly ‘brand new’. I took a photo of it and a photo of the explanation to get the name of the pattern. I do not actually read that sort of magazine unless I’m waiting somewhere and there’s no other magazine to read.

I saw the design and thought of mine and my dreams of becoming a textile designer once again began to vanish 😂 (only joking, I can still be one I know). It was a bit disheartening at the time though.

Looking closely at the design it includes embroidery and beading (sequins) for seeds; it's an 'all-over' pattern.

When I got home I did a search on the name of the fabric Hortelano fabric and found that it’s made by a company called Jane Clayton & Co. The fabric is extremely expensive for my budget anyway - at a reduced £79 a metre.

The name of the design was interesting in itself considering that the translation into Spanish of goose grass is 'Amor del Hortelano' - though in Chile we referred to this sticky grass as 'clonque' - which I couldn't find anywhere so I hazzard a guess it's from one of the original languages there.

I have always loved the web. I follow bits of information and get exactly the answers I need sometimes

It’s sort of comforting to think that a ‘proper’ designer saw the beauty of something as simple (and common) as goose grass and the possibilities of making a pattern out of the chaos this weed grows in.



photos by @cryptocariad unless credited to the right owner

Sort:  

Nature is the great designer here haha. Great artist have always shared common inspiration :)

I totally agree @steven-patrick. In fact, when I told @tinygalaxy about what had happened we had an interesting discussion about how humans in different parts of the arrived at knowledge (or design) independently. Our example that we came up with was Chinese knots vs Celtic knots.

I have to admit I was a little stunned when I saw your design idea in the pic you shot of the magazine. You are certainly a mover and shaker! LOL! Seriously, you are on the right track. Your embroidery from last week was quite pretty and inspiring. You took an everyday weed and showed us the beauty of it. As always I really enjoyed this post. I've never noticed goose grass here but I'll certainly be watching for it now. Thanks!

I'm having a day.... I mean your embroidery from this week...he he he. Have a great one!

Thank you @artemisnorth / @fiberartists... I was a bit gobsmacked when I saw the mag photo because I was quite involved in my own 'creation' process, which included a very humble (and hard to control) weed. Seeing it 'elevated' to proper expensive designer fabric in that magazine was amazing ...

I love this story!! That happens to me sometimes. I will be thinking I have a unique idea only to stumble upon something similar. I guess it is true there is nothing new under the sun.
On the other hand there is a sign that you have great ideas. I guess the trick is in being a step ahead of the game. Something I rarely manage lol

Thank you @headchange... I will just keep at it : taking photos, doing my little drawings and thinking how can I take them 'further'... 😊

What a great affirmation of your impeccable taste @cryptocariad. 😂

How interesting, you are such a great writer, expansion of entire post from a grass! Bravo! And yah, if the textile contains beads and embroidery instead of print, adds to the price for sure.... I didn't get to read your other article, I go and check now😉

Not a very brief writer for sure @naomipangolin - apologies for that 😁

Hello @cryptocariad, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hello @creativecrypto, thank very much indeed for your visit and support 😊

£79 per meter!??? You should start a weed design company for sure.
I find it always so interesting to follow the lines of creativity, which moments, images or thoughts gets the artist started. I would love to see in which way your weed design may change or grow in the future.

By the way in dancing I was a great thief/plagiator :-DDD What I mean is, I often saw an idea and then I changed it so much till it became something completely different... So, feel encourage to go on with the weed :-D
and with the designer career

Thanks, @neumannsalva. It's really interesting to see how an idea's born and how it develops. In my case it actually came from a little embroidery book I wrote about some time ago. I realise I didn't link so just in case you missed it here's my post about the zakka book ... Such simple designs and such crisp lines ... I thought I see beautiful things in my daily walks but I'm often overwhelmed by the tangled shapes.
I will just keep simplifying what I see or photograph so I can experiment with embroidery or some other creative technique to keep myself sane busy ( and ideally earn some along the way ) ... 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95