You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Divine Intervention - Finish the Story Contest, WEEK 20

in #fiction6 years ago

I agree with @jaynie... gifted. I think you showed more parsimony in your use of language in this story, but there was no imaginative deficit because of that. Your story line was clear, the emotion vivid and the imagery dreadful (in a good way) :)

Sort:  

Thanks @agmoore. It is funny you should say this:

I think you showed more parsimony in your use of language in this story, but there was no imaginative deficit because of that.

My writing tutor used to always say that I needed to reign in my use of language but I see it rather a tempering the sword in the fire. Sometimes I can let my merging of poetic style with fiction get the better of me and it becomes something which is unsure of what it is, I am aware of this and try to balance it now when writing. I do remember telling my writing tutor that he needed to spend less time trying to squash originality and more times seeking to nurture it. He laughed at the time and conceded I may have a point. I think what I'm saying is that sometimes a style is built over time and I feel like I'm just getting to that point where mine is starting to get that definition, the sword has taken shape and has a keen edge! I just need to try it out on the battlefield now by writing a novel 😉

I think creative energy is a gift. You obviously have it. A few times in my writing career I have felt that surge. It's like a high. You don't need to tame it, ever--why would you? But you will learn to be in command of it. That's what I hope your writing teacher was saying. Have fun writing--that's part of the gift :)

Yes you are right about creative energy. I did imaginative writing in university and consider myself a career writer at this point. I think you've also hit the nail on the head that my tutor was just trying to guide us all toward that perfect balance between creativity and craft. To take a hold of inspiration and shape it, rather than letting it shape what you're writing. I just used to try to wind him up is all. It is a particularly British trait and especially the part of the country I'm from, we're always taking the mick ;-)

He has always his unmistakable style, where poetry mixes with narration.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84