A Thousand Windows

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

eyeemfiltered1528228763475.jpg
Original photo by @f3nix

Believe it or not, in my life, I have done some unusual things. I blew up dozens of pens simply by holding them in my hand. When blindfolded, I knocked down an opponent using martial arts techniques which I could never repeat. In the dim light of my cellar, I stopped breathing. During the athletic class, I jumped so long that I squashed against a wall. I also dreamed a lot, often they were terrible nightmares. The day before the first day of school I dreamed of the face of my teacher, whom I still did not know. Speaking of dreams, I made a couple of so-called "lucid dreams", those where you actually realize you're dreaming. It is not easy to maintain awareness within the dream, but I tried and succeeded for a short while, and then I could do whatever I wanted, fly or build very high towers with my imagination. I believe that the power of creation is within us all. Perhaps it is the trace of the breath of God, which has remained attached to the skin of our soul, perhaps it is our own breath when it is almost able to syntonize with the rhythm of the whole creation. I also believe that a story, for how simple it may be, is never just "a story". If we stretch our ears, we will hear the distant echo of unknown melodies. Perhaps, sometimes in a story we will encounter a sliver of creation, we will find ourselves and, if you'll excuse me, it is no small thing.

A Thousand Windows


From the peak of the Little Ararat, Vartan "Tiger's Eye" observed his hometown, Yerevan. In the ample pocket of his tunic, well sheltered from the harsh wind, his squat fingers were playing with two graceful jade discs, while his steed, foaming with fatigue, seemed moved and reinvigorated at the sight of home after months of traveling. In Vartan's eyes, the only veil was that of an incommensurable fatigue for the long trip. An Armenian merchant of precious stones, merchant son of merchants, he did not care how arduous the journey was, nor how many moons had rotated above the long caravan: his mind was a precision balance, incessantly weighting and estimating without respite Indian emeralds, Burmese rubies, Pakistani aquamarines. This was Vartan's life since he was in the cradle: he made profit, and he did it surprisingly well. A fresh night in March happened to him to have a dream. Being an unusual experience for him, he awoke in a sudden, throwing in the corner of the room the brocaded bedspread, upset and sweaty despite the breeze of dawn. In his family no one used to have dreams, there was no space for these frivolities. If he reflected well, maybe a couple of times he had dreamed of carving a gem or making a good deal, but he never came across those kinds of mind trips, surreal like a sand mirage in the ocean. The dreams began to visit him more and more frequently, like the unstoppable progression of pot-bellied drops in an August downpour. Frankly, it was a very unpleasant situation for Vartan, who was soon forced to invent every kind of night stunt to justify the increasingly evident dark circles. Then one day, while he was asleep, the unthinkable happened: he suddenly realized that he was living a dream. That first experience of dreamlike lucidity did not last long, nothing but an imperceptible beating of wings of awareness before the rules of the dream came back to swallow him and relegating him back to a mere spectator.

Night after night, he began to understand the laws that governed that world and how to bend them under his creative power. Thin and rarefied realms could become dense with colors, shapes and perfumes. The Escheresque geometries of dancing fractals disobeyed space/time but, very gradually, Vartan learned to attribute a new meaning and content to the term "comprehension". For every new dream he was immersed in, the breath of that universe and his one were one only thing for longer and longer. In his dreams, Vartan traveled beneath the folds of reality, learned the lost language of angels and, together with them, he played dodging bolts of lightning in the heart of perennial storms on unknown planets. What was happening in Vartan's soul could not remain hidden to the eyes of the family, his friends, the entire city of Yerevan. The news of the crazy gems merchant spread like the concentric waves created by one of his jade pebbles in the water. Soon, disowned by his own parents, he had no choice but to saddle his steed and leave his old self behind forever, looking for a good place to rest undisturbed. There was a man who had once measured the days like carats of precious stones. In his place, now, there are a thousand men, one for every window that opened up on the vibrant and boundless realms of the dream.


banner f3nix 3.png

Sort:  

There are some magical phrases in here - pot-bellied drops just nails that swelling fall of rain. The idea of someone who doesn't really dream discovering it, and imagining how much that would change your life, you would appear crazy! It seems fitting he is a gem merchant, a night-walker who by day, deals in the shining gems of man. There is a great contrast between the material value placed on gemstones, and his intangible nighttime creations. As many men, he walked his many worlds. I love the ending! It caps it so well, and him being able to gain knowledge in his dreams, aww I just love it all.

Ok, are you sure you are a standard human? Most humans can't blow up pens with their mind or do things they can already do blindfolded, let alone all of that. You could be the next stage of evolution lol, but let's just rule out the obvious...
Were you ever exposed to radiation?
Were you bitten by a spider or other insect that was?
Have you been in any lab accidents?
Did you grow up in a lab?
Have you met other people who look just like you?
Were you given any courses of undisclosed injections?
Do you have a long blank period in your memory?
Do you have to go for yearly check ups?
If you answered yes to any of these questions, please visit our "So you found out the truth..." section of the dreamsphere ;)

In a way, dreams can feel like steps taken in another world, in the shoes of another. Dreams feel as real as reality, I have given up trying to tell, just accept and enjoy the reality I find myself in lol - I manage semi-lucid dreams a lot, most nights, but it destroys your perception. The dreams feel more real than reality, and are more fun, I go through phrases half convinced this is like the holding area between dream states. That is the reality, and this is like the old VHS they play on repeat in the waiting room. It does cure nightmares entirely though! It isn't lucid dreaming like you have described, more like immersive game playing where you are the character, you don't remember yourself, but the world shapes itself to your characters needs, and you have a slight sense of detachment, safety. The content of my dreams is the same as ever, but it has been a long time since I would have called it a nightmare.

Have you by any chance seen the movie Waking Life? Or episode two of the Junji Ito anime with the Long Dream story?

Thank you for your meaningful comment, Cal. It's strange how I posted this, I don't even know why I wrote it honestly.. it started as a diary and evolved in a story which, in the end, can still be a sort of prolongation of the diary. I think I'm quite a standard man, probably I wasn't a standard child but you know, when we grow up something gets always lost. But then again, what's standard? Probably the only standard thing in life is the projection of an idea of normality, which is nothing but a mere illusion, created by the laziest side of our minds. This has a lot to do with my interest in what we call fiction ;-) Your description of semi-lucid dream fits a lot with my recent experiences.. those I believe don't come from the REM deep state of our mind. Honestly, I think that when I was a child I developed a lucid-dream knowledge to defend myself from the nightmares I had.. they were definitely horror. I would say they were something like visions of hells in a Clive Barker's style. Nowadays my mind is way less fervid by night though.. but at least I've my pandora's box where to draw on for my ideas! I've not survived to a lab accident, not that I remember, but I saw a UFO/s from the terrace of my home.. still when kid.. but again, was that reality or a dream?
Thank you also for those references.. Junji Ito's drawings are really well done! It reminds me of Kentarō Miura, another mangaka, in berserk's most horror scenes. Today week's 18th party starts! It's going to be a very fun ride with all the openings that your story offers! See you there and ciao! :-D

Dreams and gems...there's so much of yourself in this story!
I was expecting another ending... for a moment I was thinking about this gem merchant mastering the ability of dreamlike lucidity and dreaming the most beautiful gem, shaping it from dream matter into reality.
But the story went in another direction that surpised me, and made me think.
Ther was a time, when I was a child, when I anticipated the moment when I would go to sleep, to be able to dream, even if the nightmares I often did were really terrifying. I miss that time!

Yes you're right there's a lot of me, you caught me! We have this thing in common, we usually had obnoxious nightmares! I think that in the end I got a bit fed up of the story hehe.. maybe I will rethink the end. I don't even know why I wrote this with all the ideas I should work on.. maybe just to fart around, my main talent hahah

Just stopped by to read the ending of a story you wrote, I have read so many beginnings. Nice job f3nix, your imagination is far reaching. :-)

Thank you Giddy, this is just a strange attempt.. I wish I will find a moment in summer to stay relaxed and write 🙂

This is beautiful @f3nix. You're writing is so eloquent. I agree with this piece:

Perhaps it is the trace of the breath of God, which has remained attached to the skin of our soul, perhaps it is our own breath when it is almost able to syntonize with the rhythm of the whole creation.

Magnificent.

I'm so happy and relieved by reading your comment! Thanks Jan, it means a lot because this one was unplanned, it just started spontaneously and, in the end, I wasn't so sure about it..😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99