You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Divine Intervention - Finish the Story Contest, WEEK 20

in #fiction6 years ago

You established the standard in this edition in terms of battle action and clash of cosmic forces. I would have liked a bit more of background.. I know.. the world limit.. but maybe some other hints of plot. In fact, I liked the section where the female celestial entity shows all her cynical atritude towards himanity.

Sort:  

Ha ha, pesky word limit got me mate. I wanted to build more plot/structure and further explore the relationship between Xarag and his queen and also explain how the divine connections were manipulating the human world etc but I just didn't have space. I edited this quite heavily from around 700-597 words to keep my promise to the @bananafish ;-) I was always taught the cardinal rule of 'show don't tell' and I stick to it rigidly, this is why I rarely use a strong first person narration in my stories. Anyway, I tried to scatter hints and facts through the body of the story to color the imagination and hopefully build an impression of the subtext boiling underneath. I think I may start trying to find the time to write follow up pieces to some of the 'finish the story' entries I write. Like longer short stories set in the world that has been born from the process. Thanks as always for your great comment and for running these challenges @f3nix :-)

Apologies for reverting on your comment only now, my friend. It's interesting to learn about your behind the scenes.. did you ever publish a book or a poetry collection? You know, about the follow up, I thought about it and I agree with you, this contest has already produced enough material for some good storylines to be continued. As a matter of fact, some ideas, like that of the tesseract n.19 or the one set in Prague based on Gustavo Rol, are wandering in my personal hyperuranion of stories-to-be since a long time .. A cool thing to do one day might be to create a book with a collection of the best stories from the contest. Now that we slowly start to participate all together (everyone due to his possibilities), I hope that we'll always maintain this high level of quality and inspiration and maybe attract some other great authors in the steemit community 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62860.75
ETH 3112.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86