You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Priests knowledge - Short story ( Part 4 )

in #fiction5 years ago
We can provide some kind of hope for humanity that it can survive after these devastation.

That line really stuck with me. I like this world you're building and the priests' task to preserve human knowledge. I like that they find all this knowledge and it's in a language none of them even know. Yet they press on and struggle to comprehend it, anyway. Bravo!

Sort:  

Wow, thanks. It's always nice to hear such a compliment. :)

For sure! There's so much packed into a seemingly straightforward story here: the necessity of writing for a full understanding of knowledge, the fact that even with all the tools of the human intellect, there seems to be a little magic required to preserve that knowledge (as evidenced by this being a magical brotherhood of priests), and then that requirement of magic speaks to something about the human condition. Specifically, I'm thinking about the spark of the soul or something that makes humans stand out as unique in the animal kingdom. You can interpret that religiously, if you'd like, but I don't think it's necessary.

Anyway, I could go on and on. I'm just impressed by how much meaning, imagery, and symbolism you crammed into such a short space.

thanks again. I'm so glad you liked it. I agree, it can be interpreted differently. I tried to pack everything into a short story, because I do not manage to get the best stories if I make them long :) At least for now. Come back again for more reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87