You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who wants to collaborate on a book of short stories and get it published on Amazon.com?

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

That sounds like a bit of fun but I am way too busy at the moment.

@denmarkguy @manoldonchev @warpedpoetic @honeydue @tezmel?

Sort:  

Oh, yeah I second @honeydue!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much for the shoutout @tarazkp and @improv! @jeezzle, I'm interested in collaborating😊

Thank you for the invite, @tarazkp!

@jeezzle, I'm in.

Great.

I read this story and I like your style.

https://steemit.com/writing/@manoldonchev/the-pumpkin-raiders-and-the-scarecrows-my-entry-for-the-pumpkin-harvest-farmpunk-fiction-contest

Now we just need two more for a 20 page short story or seven more for a 10 page.

I'll probably make a Discord channel tomorrow so we can discuss things there.

Great, I'll talk to you more on Discord tomorrow then. Or soon enough.

I will be happier to have a few more people on so that all of us could write 10 pages stories and even go beyond 100 pages total.

Have you considered crowdfunding the process?

I can't imagine anything that would need to be crowdfunded with the possible exception of an illustrator for our cover page. However, I think we could probably find one here on the blockchain.

Well, I live among illustrators and I'm about to marry one...

Anyway, I think ISBN costs something. I saw other fundition.io projects about it.

Coming to that Discord ;)

Crowdfunding is a great idea.

Thanks @tarazkp for the mention. @jeezzle I am certainly interested.

Excellent. I'm going to poke through your blog a bit.

Really good stuff.

https://steemit.com/fiction/@warpedpoetic/untitled-an-experiment-in-fiction

That is exactly the type of story that I'm looking for. I tend to write flash fiction. Usually around 1000 - 2000 words. It is going to be a little bit more difficult to stretch that into 20 pages, but I know we can do it.

Also, we won't be able to post our work online because that could be detrimental to the publishing process.

Hopefully a couple of other people hop on board soon. I used the OCBD bot to upvote this post, but I don't know when it's going to take effect.

Why would that be detrimental to the publishing process?

I've had stories rejected because they were previously published before. On Steem. I guess it doesn't matter much with self-publishing. We'll just have to see how things go because we're still in the early stages of figuring this out.

Publishers all set their own guidelines. Most reputable publishers don't want material that has already been published. But in this case, YOU're the publisher. You get to set the guidelines. If the point is to promote Steemit fiction writers to show people the quality talent Steemit has, the previously published stipulation would be a hindrance, in my opinion. You can show people what has already been published as well as original material from some of the top writer. The bottom line is, you're the publisher. You set the guidelines. I wouldn't follow what everyone else is doing without a real good reason why.

I agree with that, but the same time I don't want the entire book to already be available on here. I think at this point we are probably going to publish pieces of each chapter in order to garner interest, but I'm going to have to check with the rest of the authors.

That makes sense.

Oh cool. I would actually have to write a 20 pages story from scratch... Oh well I better get started

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64307.66
ETH 3146.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88