Who wants to collaborate on a book of short stories and get it published on Amazon.com?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

I'm looking for a group of fiction writing Steemians to collaborate on a book of short stories with me.

We can base it on whatever theme we like.

agagagag.jpg
Pixabay

Right now I am thinking that we need at least five authors.

We can publish it under the name Steem Fiction Writers or something similar, and then write a small blurb at the back of the book talking about Steem in order to bring more attention to the platform.

Of course we would each include our names and state which chapter we wrote as well, so you don't have to worry about not getting recognition.

If you're a writer that has never tried to get anything published, I think this is a great opportunity.

It's also a great opportunity for us to get the name Steem out there in the fiction universe.

Right now I'm thinking we need at least five authors to write a short story of about 20 pages each.

It would also be pretty cool if we could get an illustrator but I'm not holding my breath.

Right now I'm looking for at least five Steemians that would each write a short chapter.

I would like to see this book published by March 1st.

I would also like us to be unified so that the book of short stories has a particular theme, I am thinking Supernatural or Superhero because the world seems to be very accepting of that genre right now.

I already have a story in mind, but we can change the theme to whatever the group decides.

I can't promise that this book will make any money, but at the very least it should be a great way to get our names, and Steem's name, out there. All profits from this book will be divided equally among authors and, if possible, an illustrator.

If you are interested, or if you know someone that is interested, please make a comment below and I will get in contact with you.

I also ask that you please resteem this post.

The only requirement I have is that you can write competently, and in perfect English. If you are not fluent in English, then I wish you the best but I ask that you look elsewhere.

Each story will be subject to approval by majority, so expect some rewrites. 20 pages in 2 months? You can do this.

I look forward to meeting and talking to some fiction writing Steemians.

Sort:  

That sounds like a bit of fun but I am way too busy at the moment.

@denmarkguy @manoldonchev @warpedpoetic @honeydue @tezmel?

Oh, yeah I second @honeydue!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much for the shoutout @tarazkp and @improv! @jeezzle, I'm interested in collaborating😊

Thank you for the invite, @tarazkp!

@jeezzle, I'm in.

Great.

I read this story and I like your style.

https://steemit.com/writing/@manoldonchev/the-pumpkin-raiders-and-the-scarecrows-my-entry-for-the-pumpkin-harvest-farmpunk-fiction-contest

Now we just need two more for a 20 page short story or seven more for a 10 page.

I'll probably make a Discord channel tomorrow so we can discuss things there.

Great, I'll talk to you more on Discord tomorrow then. Or soon enough.

I will be happier to have a few more people on so that all of us could write 10 pages stories and even go beyond 100 pages total.

Have you considered crowdfunding the process?

I can't imagine anything that would need to be crowdfunded with the possible exception of an illustrator for our cover page. However, I think we could probably find one here on the blockchain.

Well, I live among illustrators and I'm about to marry one...

Anyway, I think ISBN costs something. I saw other fundition.io projects about it.

Coming to that Discord ;)

Crowdfunding is a great idea.

Thanks @tarazkp for the mention. @jeezzle I am certainly interested.

Excellent. I'm going to poke through your blog a bit.

Really good stuff.

https://steemit.com/fiction/@warpedpoetic/untitled-an-experiment-in-fiction

That is exactly the type of story that I'm looking for. I tend to write flash fiction. Usually around 1000 - 2000 words. It is going to be a little bit more difficult to stretch that into 20 pages, but I know we can do it.

Also, we won't be able to post our work online because that could be detrimental to the publishing process.

Hopefully a couple of other people hop on board soon. I used the OCBD bot to upvote this post, but I don't know when it's going to take effect.

Why would that be detrimental to the publishing process?

I've had stories rejected because they were previously published before. On Steem. I guess it doesn't matter much with self-publishing. We'll just have to see how things go because we're still in the early stages of figuring this out.

Publishers all set their own guidelines. Most reputable publishers don't want material that has already been published. But in this case, YOU're the publisher. You get to set the guidelines. If the point is to promote Steemit fiction writers to show people the quality talent Steemit has, the previously published stipulation would be a hindrance, in my opinion. You can show people what has already been published as well as original material from some of the top writer. The bottom line is, you're the publisher. You set the guidelines. I wouldn't follow what everyone else is doing without a real good reason why.

I agree with that, but the same time I don't want the entire book to already be available on here. I think at this point we are probably going to publish pieces of each chapter in order to garner interest, but I'm going to have to check with the rest of the authors.

That makes sense.

Oh cool. I would actually have to write a 20 pages story from scratch... Oh well I better get started

Such a cool idea! Not sure if I can participate, but I'm keeping my eye out on it all :)

Thank you. We appreciate your support.

Thanks for the heads-up @girlbeforemirror :)

A girl after my own heart.

So, a I'm interested. But b why not approach writers who have short stories you enjoy on the blockchain already? And/or c see if they have shorts already written that might need some professional editing help, but then would be good to publish?

But yes, I'd be very interested in writing for a project like this, especially if someone else is doing the labor of organizing the project and all I have to do is write.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm in if you want me! Open a group on discord so that we can all chat there and share ideas. I think this is a brilliant idea.

Great. I'm excited to have you on board. I'll be opening a Discord channel in just a few minutes.

So, a I'm interested. But b why not approach writers who have short stories you enjoy on the blockchain already? And/or c see if they have shorts already written that might need some professional editing help, but then would be good to publish?

But yes, I'd be very interested in writing for a project like this, especially if someone else is doing the labor of organizing the project and all I have to do is write.

Tagging folks who might be interested. @felt.buzz @freewritehouse @suesa @girlbeforemirror

Posted using Partiko Android

Don't really have time for any projects atm, but as you said, I already have a bunch of short stories.

Exactomundo.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, most people that I know including myself tend to write flash fiction on the blockchain. However, if you have some stories that are 10 to 20 pages in length and fit our unified theme then I don't see a problem. Just make sure they aren't published anywhere else, and if they are they might need to be deleted.

But on the blockchain works?

Posted using Partiko Android

I've been told that my work cannot be published because it was posted here on Steem. It is possible to delete items from Steem now, even things that were written long ago.

Since we will be self-publishing it might not be that big of a deal, but I still would like to see something original that isn't available anywhere else.

I really think writing something new is the best idea, but if you've got something that fits the bill and it's 10 to 20 pages long then I'm definitely open to checking it out.... but I don't think it should be publishled anywhere already, and if it is it should probably be deleted just to make sure we don't run into any snags in the publishing process.

Exactly what @felt.buzz said. And especially since the book would be used to promote the blockchain, I'd even EXPECT the work to be available here on the blockchain.

But also I can write something new. As long as I'm not the one doing the organizing work, I'm happy to just write without worrying about those other details.

I'm on board with whatever everybody agrees with. I just have fresh in my mind the thought that I was frowned upon for having work previously published on the blockchain. I know it doesn't affect self-publishing though, and I willing to work with whatever ideas everyone has.

I do like the thought that we come out with fresh product though. I'm hoping this could be the start of several different books of various themes..... this one using Supernatural.

Wow - this post got a lot of comments. I’m in if there is room for one more.

Posted using Partiko iOS

11 authors already?

I still want in.

Posted using Partiko iOS

DM me in discord.

Hi @jeezzle,
This sounds like fun. I'm seriously considering hopping on board. I've had several short erotic stories published over the years. But I also seriously write science fiction and fantasy.
my stories on steem speak for themselves. So do the stories on my web page joenobel.com.
Let me know the particulars. What genre are you looking for? Is this a "same universe" project? How many writers do you have committed already?
Reply please or catch me off line at (in order of best to worst):
Telegram at https://t.me/joenobel
Email form at http://www.joenobel.com/contact.php
Discord at @joe.nobel
steem.chat at https://steem.chat/direct/joe.nobel
steemsig.png

It looks like we have 11 authors at this point. It's not a same universe project, although that is a good idea.

We are planning on writing a series of short story books, the first one using the theme Supernatural.

I'm hoping that the book will be slightly over 200 pages long. The more authors we have, the fewer words will need to be written. I think at this point we're looking at about 8,000 words each.

I'd be interested!

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to the group.

Thanks, I made it to the discord, talk soon!

Have you ever published a book before? Are you talking print or electronic, or both? I can tell you right now, you shouldn't expect any profits. Not on a first book, and not on a multi-author fiction anthology. I'd set one goal and keep it at that. If it's to attract more writers to Steemit, a mission I am fully in support of, then make that the goal.

I tried your Discord link. It's expired. Join us in Speculative Fiction Writers of Steemit. I think we can work together.

https://discord.gg/VfKvDt

I'll check your link out, but we already have nine great authors on board. Profit isn't the driving force here. We intend to publish this book under the name Steem Fiction Writers. I'd like to show the world that this blockchain has some of the best writers around.

We're actually planning on making a series of books, each one a different genre. The first is Supernatural.

I like it. I've got a similar project in mind for my publishing company, Garden Gnome Publications. @gardengnomepubs. Of course, I stick only to speculative fiction, but this is a really cool idea. I hope it does well.

Sweet. I'll check out your blog.

Well wisewordsed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00