You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Tale Of Two Hares Or Do Not Cross The Farmer's Wife

in #fiction6 years ago

Very well written, @glenalbrethsen! I was hoping that the Tarbibs would make it to safety but the odds were against them. Expecting a happy ending when none was even hinted at means the author had control of me from the beginning. Good on you, sir!

Sort:  

Well, I'm glad you liked it. There's nine more to go. Not sure when the next one will be but I do intend to work through them all.

As I mentioned to someone else, knowing that the Tarbibs are already yard decorations meant telling the story of how they came to be. In this case, literally, as opposed to what might happen with some other stories where the decorations merely represent the real thing.

I'm not sure yet, but I believe there will be some mixture of the two, and hopefully with a higher ratio of happier endings, though I suppose from the farmer's wife's perspective, she was thrilled. :)

It is easier for me to relate to stories about bunnies who are given very long lives by a bunny magician. As a child, the dogs would have given me nightmares for days. (Down to only a night or two now.)

It will be a good project to write about all the objects in your garden. I wonder if there is anything in common in their backgrounds that led them on their quest for Casa Albrethsen? A common quest? A common cause?

I guess I didn't answer this. Sorry about that. :)

Don't need to give you any nightmares, so no more demon dogs. :)

I'm thinking that some of them will be tied together, but in groups, so not necessarily all of them bound to one another. I suppose there could be one or two that wound up here because they wanted to.

There's three more objects that might just meet similar fates at the hands of a certain farmer's wife (or not), but then maybe some of the others will originate elsewhere. I haven't quite worked out all of that yet, and probably won't until I'm writing each story. :)

I can understand not knowing how it will end. At least half of what I write takes over and heads off in an unplanned direction when I'm nearing the end. It may be a subconscious thing but those endings are always better than what I had in my mind as I wrote.

When I was working on Sterling: For the Republic, that happened in the middle and it was as if the text was possessed! I was pounding out words in anticipation of seeing what the two characters involved were doing. That was my first, very real high about creative thinking.

Leaving Saigon had a similar experience while writing about living on Phu Quoc Island in the recently-renamed Gulf of Siam, back during the VN war. I became so focused and into the text for almost three days that I had a disoriented feeling when I left the computer, not knowing which was my correct reality.That was a bit spooky but the intense focusing on the events just took over and I actually WAS on Phu Quoc and then back in SC simply by standing up..

Things like that make it all worth the effort!

Now, I can't say I've ever been that engrossed that I got disoriented or thought I was somewhere else, but then, I'm generally not writing about experiences I've had, and I would imagine that some of that was probably intense. :)

I do find myself walking out of some movies I've been immersed in where I seem to carry out the general mood of it. Don't know how to explain that exactly, but it takes a while to reacclimate.

Having the story go different than planned must be pretty common. I know it happens to me more times than not. But it's better not to force it, I've found, because it comes out flat or stilted or feeling unnatural.

It is funny how that works. I generally call it inspiration, where I'm being guided to it as opposed to me coming up with it, but I imagine each writer has their own way of describing the process.

Inspiration at a subconscious level, I think. Whatever it is, it has been some of my best, I think. Being able to sit and write with no interruptions or distractions for a few hours makes a big difference, too. I get so focused on the words on the screen I forget my surroundings and it takes a bit of adjusting when I stop. I had those same feelings in movies when I as a kid where the world felt strange as if I had really spent time in a different one.

It's part of the enjoyment of writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63313.23
ETH 3079.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89