A Tale Of Two Hares Or Do Not Cross The Farmer's Wife

in #fiction6 years ago

Many Years Ago, Before Any Of Us Were Born...

Mr. and Mrs. Tarbib huddled in the cobwebbed corner of the creaky garden shed, looking furtively at one another as the moon cast long shadows through the partially broken window above them. For the last several minutes, they had been scurrying around the field of carrots and turnips, trying to get away from the farmer's wife and her hellish hounds. They had finally ditched the gruesome threesome, but with no way out but the way they had come in, the couple's only hope was that the craggy faced woman would get bored and call her rabid dogs off.

Rabbits_cropped.jpg
Photo by Glen Anthony Albrethsen

"Can you hear them?" asked Mrs. Tarbib. She was trembling so that Mr. Tarbib extended a forepaw around her.

"I can't hear a thing." His nose twitched as he moved his head up and down and back and forth. "Can't smell them either."

"How long do you think we need to stay in here before it's clear?"

"I don't know. There was a dark gleam in her eye I've never seen before. She might not give up so easily this time."

"Don't say that!" Mrs. Tarbib wailed in a whisper. "You'll curse us both, you will."

"Now, now," Mr. Tarbib said. His paw patted her shoulder. "We'll be all right. We just need to sit here and be quiet and..."

A rush of sound, air and odor hit both Tarbibs, putting the surprised couple in sensory overload. All at once, the door was flung open, smashing against the inner wall, sending a wave of wind to batter them, carrying on it the stench of what might very well be rotting flesh. Mrs. Tarbibs' already accelerated heartbeat ticked up several notches as she tried to wriggle inside her husband's coat.

From the outside gloom, four glowing orbs hovered at the threshold, then proceeded towards them. As the orbs penetrated the shed, fangs and fur formed around what became diseased riddled eyes and grew out to hound sized dogs.

Growling, saliva dripping from their razor sharp teeth, the canines advanced, effectively cutting off any chance of escape. The window was too high and intact for the Tarbibs to attempt to leap through. The hounds might be slow, but in this confined space, they held the advantage.

"Where's your mistress, demon dogs?" Mr. Tarbib said, his eyes flashing with defiance. He did it for his wife, quelling his own natural tendency to paralyzing terror.

"Right here, my darling." The farmer's wife stepped into the shack, "I knew you had to be somewhere nearby. I could feel you."

She passed the dogs and leaned down to the Tarbibs, strangely cocking her head to one side, making her crooked nose with its scabby wart even more severe as it jutted out under cavernous eyes and caterpillar brows.

"Now see here," Mr. Tarbib said, raising up on his hind legs in attempt to raise his own gaze, "You're frightening the missus. I simply can't allow that."

"You both should have thought about that before you came to steal from my field. Again." The old hags' breath rattled and whistled as she spoke, spittle forming on her lips. "You were duly warned what would happen to you if you persisted. Now it's time to pay for your insolence."

"So, this is it, is it?" Mr. Tarbib lowered down, raising his head so he could still see the ancient woman's face. "Just like that?"

"You've had your chances to abstain. You've had mercy extended. The consequences of repeating the offense were painstakingly explained. I..."

"Well, then, on with it, will you?" Mr. Tarbib said, mustering an impish grin, "Or we'll both die of boredom right here, we will."

He heard his wife's tittering as she partially looked away and covered her mouth. She always found him funny. It was his sense of humor that attracted her all those years ago.

The farmer's wife, however, had a different reaction to Mr. Tarbib's barb. Enraged, she did not hold back. For you see, she was also a witch, steeped in the dark arts. While she generally refrained from using witchcraft, she simply could not abide rodents among her prized carrots and turnips. Not after sufficient warning. The Tarbibs could have left well enough alone, but it wasn't in their nature. So, justice must be dealt, swift and sure.

Turned to alabaster, forever clinging to one another, frozen in defiant mirth, the Tarbibs were then sold to unsuspecting townsfolk as yard ornaments, where they have been passed on ever since from one soul to the next, none the wiser as to the true origins of their outdoor decorations.

But if you someday spy the pair at a garage sale, you now know the tale of how they came to be.


About This Post

This bit of fiction comes about from a conversation I had with @willymac on a post he wrote over a month ago about yard art. He stated that all yard ornaments had a story. When I told him that most of ours didn't, he insisted, saying:

There is a story with everything, even if it [is] no more than "I found it on the street." With a bit of embellishment, it can become a yarn.

I decided I would take him up on the embellishing part.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I don't know if anyone will actually see this, but thank you for the submission all the same. I appreciate it, and I'm also glad to learn about the c-squared community and the curation collective discord community.

Hello again @glenalbrethsen ,

Yes, we do sometimes see replies like this. The only thing that is automatic is the triggering of the comment. The rest is real human curation and interaction. lol
We are just getting started (less than two weeks ago) but growing fast and we like to think, doing great things. If you get a chance head on over to our Discord. We recently started a writing curation channel. It hasn't quite gotten off the ground yet, but with great writers like yourself in there it could become interesting very quickly.

Thanks,
Gene
(Yes, I am with both groups in this comment section. lol)

I am always happy whenever I see things like this on here. Thank you @c-squared for making a difference here on Steemit. I am also apart of a Pay It Forward curation contest hosted by @thedarkhorse that has been making a huge difference in the lives of quality content creators and newbies. Keep up the good work.

lol! oh man that was so good. Great writing, I got so involved in that silly tale, lol. such wonderful adjectives. I was rooting for them dang rabbits or whatever they are.
Maybe the next tale won't end so deadly but at least they were memorialized!

Well, I have nine more ornaments to figure out stories for, so who knows. I would say they were rabbits after a kind, at least as much as rabbits who wear clothes that look like they belong in the 18th or early 19th century. Since I've never seen rabbits wear clothes, period, it seemed like they couldn't just be ordinary rabbits, so give them some attitude and that's what gets them into trouble. :)

haha! you gave them such character.. I was amazed. I don't think the other 9 will be a problem for you to develop.
Do you just sit down, start writing and things pour out?

It depends. If I have a clear idea from the beginning, mainly because I've been percolating on it in the back of mind for a while, then yes, it's basically a download. However, it's getting to that point that can take some time. In this case, I started the idea last week, I think it was, and didn't like how it was going (alien rabbits, basically). So, I decided to take cues from their clothing and their postures, expressions instead, and came up with the what I posted. Once that happened, it was just a matter of getting the story to flow, with the intent that it would wrap up in a short time. In this case, that was the harder part. Cramming in enough story to get to an ending point.

so it could have easily turned into a novel! lol

I don't know if it would hold my interest for that long, but it could have become more of an Aesop's Fable or Grimm's Tale, something much larger and more detailed than the post was.

Most people wanting to read a post on the internet aren't looking to consume much more than 600-1000 words, so it would probably need to be continued, and that would be a bit much for what I'm trying to accomplish, since I'm currently looking at doing nine separate mini-stories. :)

ha! yes sir I understand, that's quite an undertaking even for a
prolific writer such as yourself I would imagine.

Will be checking back soon to see what is next.

I have pictures from older posts on my blog of some pretty 'out there' lawn decorations. Feel free to view and use for more fun stories. No problem sharing pics if I still have them. Maybe I will try one and let you check it out.

These could keep you busy for an eternity. Sorry sideways but Steemit has been doing that off and on recently.

Have fun.
IMG_1502.JPG

Fun!

Wow. That is quite the collection there.

Well, I may take you up on the offer. I've got nine more to work in from our own lawn decorations, and I'm not sure what I'm going to do after that. However, I won't say never at this stage because i like having subject matter to write about.

It isn't mine!!! Ran across this collection one day just riding around. Yes, quite the collection.

Oh, sorry. If I made it sound like I thought they were yours that wasn't what I meant. I was just saying it was quite the collection, and that before I went writing any stories from your pictures, I'd need to see where I was at after I wrote about mine.

Whew!

Didn't want you to think I was a lawn ornament freak. LOL

Hi glenalbrethsen,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

love your imagination buddy! those poor things never stood a chance! well, at least Mr. Tarbib was still able to inject one more humor during his last moments.

Yeah, since it was a given that the Tarbibs were already lawn decorations it was kind of like telling the story of the Titanic, or how Darth Vader came to be. You already know the outcome, so that means coming up with something that explains it. I'm glad you liked it. :)

I love this story, and of course @willymac was your muse :)

I used to teach a story to my Grade 9 students about a garden gnome that came to life. One day I found one and brought it to school and the kids took great pleasure sneaking in before me and moving it to a different spot. We used to create a class story about the little guy all the time. Some even insisted on taking him home and taking photos of him in a weird spot to generate a new story idea for the next day! Great memory, thank you ;)

Glad to aid in the walk down memory lane. That sounds like great fun, especially using a photograph of the gnome in a strange spot each day to generate a new story. I bet that got pretty creative.

I kind of took the opposite tack, didn't I. From alive to inanimate, we'll say.

I tried putting this together earlier in the week and didn't like the sci-fi slant I was giving it. So, I took more cues from their clothing and their poses and decided there must be some magic involved.

I might end up with more as I go along. There's ten ornaments in all. Need to figure out each of their stories so I don't end up repeating myself. :)

Very well written, @glenalbrethsen! I was hoping that the Tarbibs would make it to safety but the odds were against them. Expecting a happy ending when none was even hinted at means the author had control of me from the beginning. Good on you, sir!

Well, I'm glad you liked it. There's nine more to go. Not sure when the next one will be but I do intend to work through them all.

As I mentioned to someone else, knowing that the Tarbibs are already yard decorations meant telling the story of how they came to be. In this case, literally, as opposed to what might happen with some other stories where the decorations merely represent the real thing.

I'm not sure yet, but I believe there will be some mixture of the two, and hopefully with a higher ratio of happier endings, though I suppose from the farmer's wife's perspective, she was thrilled. :)

It is easier for me to relate to stories about bunnies who are given very long lives by a bunny magician. As a child, the dogs would have given me nightmares for days. (Down to only a night or two now.)

It will be a good project to write about all the objects in your garden. I wonder if there is anything in common in their backgrounds that led them on their quest for Casa Albrethsen? A common quest? A common cause?

I guess I didn't answer this. Sorry about that. :)

Don't need to give you any nightmares, so no more demon dogs. :)

I'm thinking that some of them will be tied together, but in groups, so not necessarily all of them bound to one another. I suppose there could be one or two that wound up here because they wanted to.

There's three more objects that might just meet similar fates at the hands of a certain farmer's wife (or not), but then maybe some of the others will originate elsewhere. I haven't quite worked out all of that yet, and probably won't until I'm writing each story. :)

I can understand not knowing how it will end. At least half of what I write takes over and heads off in an unplanned direction when I'm nearing the end. It may be a subconscious thing but those endings are always better than what I had in my mind as I wrote.

When I was working on Sterling: For the Republic, that happened in the middle and it was as if the text was possessed! I was pounding out words in anticipation of seeing what the two characters involved were doing. That was my first, very real high about creative thinking.

Leaving Saigon had a similar experience while writing about living on Phu Quoc Island in the recently-renamed Gulf of Siam, back during the VN war. I became so focused and into the text for almost three days that I had a disoriented feeling when I left the computer, not knowing which was my correct reality.That was a bit spooky but the intense focusing on the events just took over and I actually WAS on Phu Quoc and then back in SC simply by standing up..

Things like that make it all worth the effort!

Now, I can't say I've ever been that engrossed that I got disoriented or thought I was somewhere else, but then, I'm generally not writing about experiences I've had, and I would imagine that some of that was probably intense. :)

I do find myself walking out of some movies I've been immersed in where I seem to carry out the general mood of it. Don't know how to explain that exactly, but it takes a while to reacclimate.

Having the story go different than planned must be pretty common. I know it happens to me more times than not. But it's better not to force it, I've found, because it comes out flat or stilted or feeling unnatural.

It is funny how that works. I generally call it inspiration, where I'm being guided to it as opposed to me coming up with it, but I imagine each writer has their own way of describing the process.

Inspiration at a subconscious level, I think. Whatever it is, it has been some of my best, I think. Being able to sit and write with no interruptions or distractions for a few hours makes a big difference, too. I get so focused on the words on the screen I forget my surroundings and it takes a bit of adjusting when I stop. I had those same feelings in movies when I as a kid where the world felt strange as if I had really spent time in a different one.

It's part of the enjoyment of writing.

congrats on the Curie award for this, @glenalberthsen! It had to be the demon dogs that made the grade!

In re-reading it, I'm not sure what made the grade. It's kind of weird how you can like how things turn out the one day, and then the next look at it and start to cringe at things you should have changed.

It's definitely a perk when Curie comes calling. It will be nicer, though, when upvotes appear en masse without the aid of Curie, along with all of these comments. That will mean more engagement and more eyes on what I post.

I have to fight the temptation to change the ending of almost everything I write. The "oh, no! If I had just used another word, it would have been better" always strikes as soon as I post.

Ah, upvotes! It seems magic to me that you have more upvotes than followers! Self-promotion has always been one of the black arts to me even though it is a necessary key to success at anything when people are involved.

It must really be dark arts in my case because as far as I can tell, I'm doing as little self-promotion as possible. The only thing that I may be doing that others might find extraordinary is that I'm making a lot of comments, and longer than most are used to seeing. :)

Yeah, it's cool when Curie comes calling. Unfortunately, that's not a daily or weekly, or even a monthly occurrence, which would be awesome. I've had back to back months of Curie votes twice, with two months of none in between. I know that's a lot more than others see. I've not done anything different than those folks, though, other than create what I believe to be good content and fling it out there for whoever to see it.

I'm not all that verbal and tend to say the minimum to get my point across and don't do well with space-fillers and social chat. That makes it hard to get overly verbose in writing beyond the point of being polite.

I have made 495 comments and earned a grand total of .22 curation SP, so improving that return is something else I have to work on. Always something on the learning curve! Commenting is a great way to meet people, though. I never even think about it having a monetary return or not; it's just nice to make new acquaintances. After all, I'm doing this for entertainment and not to make my fortune. That takes the pressure off.

Hi @glenalbrethsen ,

I loved how you started off with your own garden decoration (I assume it is your own since it is your photo as well) and in the end it comes full circle. The character build up was excellent and then again, that ending, perfect.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Late Monday/Early Tuesday (U.S. time) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@randomwanderings#9929 ) or even through email to randomwanderingsgene at gmail .com . This personal addition to my article is always one of my favorite parts.

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Gene (@curie curator)


Curie Badge transparency.png

I appreciate the feedback. I'm glad it was to your liking. I am happy with the way it turned out compared to where I was going with it to start with. That's generally the case, though. :)

By all means, I'd love to be a part of the showcase if that happens and you can use my photo.

I don't know that I have much to add. As I mention at the bottom, the story about this particular yard decoration came about because I was told every yard decoration has a story. I don't know what that story might be with regards to the rabbits or even how we acquired them, so I created one. Maybe I can tell my granddaughter the story when she's old enough. :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-08T00:53:03
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 109.85/200.00
Total Photos: 18
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98