Bonded (And Two Other Fifty Word Stories - Contest Entry)

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

Fifty Word Short Story Entry.png

Desperately, he glanced at the lethargic clock hands. He hadn’t even made 8 hours yet.

The hum and pop of sewing machines filled the air. His blood spotted hands were inept from exhaustion. He couldn’t take a break, his wife needed a little more sleep before it was her turn.


I really struggled to chose which story to enter here, I have ended up going with this first one, although the third story, The Accident, very nearly took it.


The Exam

She sat at the back of the exam hall, straining to reach the paper. She’d been so anxious about making the exam.

She pushed a worried strand of hair behind her ear, she had got through the first half.

Then she felt it, the wetness spreading as her waters broke.


I am sure you have guessed the theme already, one that could go many ways.


The Accident

“The ambulance will be here to fix you up in no time kid, looks like a clean break at least”

He stared down at the ruptured flesh, hot thick blood advanced across the tarmac, a shiny pink bone jutted through the ripped skin. Nausea rippled through him; this was clean?

I had so many ideas for this contest, I couldn't resist sharing a few others. I found myself thinking a lot about the meaning of the word break and by extension, broken. Things are considered broken when their state is changed, from solid vase to shards, or from relentless rain to sunshine, or even a bond which in breaking, changes one atom to another. In some ways broken can just mean different to how something was, and doesn't necessarily imply worsening. I was very tempted to write another entry more along these lines but I already had enough to chose from!

This is my entry to @jayna 's Fifty Word Story Contest - the theme this week is 'Break' - you can find all the entries under the tag #fiftywords

Image made using a stock photo on Canva - a great resource for banners with text like this

Sort:  

Wow, not one story, but 3!! What a treat, thank you @calluna and all are good in their own way..

Thank you, I struggle so much to just write one when they are so short, it is like having a little bit of chocolate when you want more lol

Ha ha, great analogy!

the first one reminded me of the cottage industry. Fucking slave system...

No one should ever have to work in those conditions.

I think it was a post of yours that lodged the idea of writing about something like that in my mind ;)

Oh that is so clever of you to write several 50-word stories in one post. I think you are the first to do it that way. I like them all.

Thank you, I had a hard time picking which one to enter! When stories are short and on the same theme, it just seems like I may as well, I also worry a little about over loading people with posts, so I am super glad you are ok with it :)

All are nice story. Even me love your writing

Thank you :)

tt

I don't have a flagging account and haven't downvoted you, this is my only account. If you look at any of my posts, you can see I am also being flagged like crazy by this same bully with numerous accounts, and have been for a long time. They are actively trying to drive me off the platform, from downvoting my posts, to impersonating me, and posting lewd images claiming to be of me. I have been very lucky so far, and the other users they have flagged whilst impersonating me have looked into the account, and realized it is not me.

You can find out more about the user behind this here.

I don't believe in flagging something I have stated in comments at length, and have never flagged anyone. This bully targets people who upvote people they are already targeting, so to try and answer the question of why, you must have upvoted someone they don't like. Either that, or something made them think you were likely to flag me "back". I have nothing to do with this account, I am unable to remove the flag left by another user, or prevent this user flagging you again. They are looking for reactions just like this, so if they see that you have contacted me, they are likely to increase their targeting of you.

They have created an account, using a photo of me and some random boobies, and have been flagging people whilst impersonating me, in an attempt to get people to flag me or to come and bully me. I am still really sorry they have found you and flagged you, I understand that you wanting to blame me for this and can only hope that doing so makes you feel better about the situation.

I am glad you enjoy what you do, and would encourage you to stick at it regardless of these bullies. I admire your tenacity and determination to continue doing what you love. I hope it never gets to you, it sucks.

Thank you very much for being the bigger person and leaving a comment instead of just downvoting me, I am really sorry you have been exposed to this.

Edit: I upvoted you as soon as I saw this, I then spent the next hour trying not to tell this person get to me, and deliberating over what to say to you. I am honestly not flagging anyone, I wish you would believe me. I worry so much about upsetting people generally in life, I wouldn't have the guts to flag someone. I am being targeting to this degree, became after months of being flagged for no reason, I got sleepless nights levels of worried about the person who was doing it, I was just really concerned as to what could have upset them so much, and I contacted them, which has lead to this. I focus all my free time on my writing, I don't flag anyone, I know I need to focus a lot more on my writing if I ever want to be even vaguely good.

And if you were me, well then there wouldn't be a me, but two you's, and I am quite sure the world would be a much better place for that, but life is what it is, and I can't be someone else, as much as I wish I was. I am sorry this has happened.

PRICES HAVE CHANGED TO 0.150 and 0.151!!!
NEW TIER UPVOTES user guide



Current price is 0.150 or 0.151 SBD for 200%, 250%, or 300% upvote based on tier level.

200% ($0.30) - Bronze Level - No requirements
250% ($0.37) - Silver Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 (whichever is possible)
300% ($0.45) - Gold Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 AND 50SP delegation

All delegators make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with an upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97