FiftyWords Challenge - Leaving

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

This week prompt for @jayna's 50-word challenge is goodbye.
My contribution to this lovely challenge is about a girl who is leaving home. Her departure makes mom sad as she already lost her husband (he left but never returned).
Leaving home is always hard, for both parties (parents and children) even though this is part of life. Parents would like to have the children close to them while the young ones are torn between the wish to taste "freedom" and feel protected.
These are the feelings I tried to capture in the below story. I hope I succeeded.


As always, the photo I used is one of my own, digitally enhanced.


1538856989240-01.jpeg

While packing, Elayna looked at her mother. Tears were flowing from mom's tired eyes. She always hated to see her mother crying.
"Why goodbyes are so damn hard?" Elayna thought.
"Mom, I will return. Nothing can keep me away from you."
"I know, sweetie. You will come back, unlike daddy."

steemit-border

Picture1.png

QvAAKWXl.gif
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif

WorldWildFlora Discord server: https://discord.gg/sRY4du9

QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/9cdhjc7

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

A beautiful post @roxy-cat Both your words and your image are very poignant. Well Done!

Thank you so much, Trudee. Much appreciated.

A lovely and thought-provoking story, @roxy-cat! Goodbyes are always hard. And young people don't yet understand the depth of their parents love for them, and how hard it is to let go. Nicely done.

psst... you want to change "bellow" to "below" in your prologue. :-)

Thank you, @jayna.
Amendment made. I guess it was a typo as this is an easy word. I wonder how come the grammarnazi bot did not pick it up. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87