Three comedies att. @steevcsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #film5 years ago (edited)

I have been terrible bad at commenting and reading other peoples posts, but at busy I saw that @steevc had mentioned me, asking that I participate in a contest by @phctop3.

You can see the contest here: Monthly Contest - A Chance To Win STEEM From A Growing Prize Pool!

Sadly I didn't make the deadline, but here are three comedy films that I like.

The General

I love Buster Keaton and The General is his master piece. The story is simple and beautifully filmed and the civil war in all its horror plays a subtle but important role as counterpoint to the heroes unworldly love.

Les Visiteurs

All the fun in this film comes from the idea that a knight and nobleman from the middle ages along with his squire are being sent to our time by a senile sorcerer. I always loved French humour, and I remember having a laughing fit from a scene where the squire eats a sandwich with plastic wrap around it while trying to keep up a conversation with a female vagabond... kind of hard to explain, but great acting.

In this scene The nobleman played by Jean Reno and the squire played by Christian Clavier (both such great actors) think a black postman is a Saracen.

More Bad News

I also love British humour - charming and loving its underdogs (did anyone mention Phill!?). I have written about Bad News before and I love it so much I didn't even bother to see Spinal tap!

The link below contains both the first tv-film called Bad News, and the follow up (which is the best) called More Bad News.

Sort:  

How about a new contest
Top 3 TV shows without actors


This would be one of my choices

I've been trying to keep up with commenting and reading each morning, but I can't always get to everyone either. Sometimes real life needs more of my time, which is too bad, as it only takes a couple of days and your votes are gone. This is definitely a beast that needs attention, eh?

I love British comedy as well @katharsisdrill and am a dyed in the wool anglophile. I love the UK and would live there year round if I was allowed, but alas, I cannot.

Terrible, terrible real life! I have been mixed up with it too! but I am happy to say that after I left the real-life abusing community I have been clean. I wish I could say the same about @Ocrdu. He seems to have a terrible car abuse (which is reality abuse on level worst).

Good thing so much of the British TV comedy show can be found on YouTube and Vimeo. Keeps us off the streets.

Exactly, real life is too...Real. Bring on Youtube! :)

Thanks for posting this @katharsisdrill!
I love Buster Keaton, but have somehow never seen The General.
That changes today:D

It is such a great film! Enjoy.

Bad News was great, and I havent done @steevc's challenge yet.. comedy is not my big genre TBH and thats a factor.. but I remember the Comedy Strip stuff quite well.

'A Fistful of Travellers' Cheques' was quite decent too.

I'll try to find 'A Fistful of Travellers' Cheques' then. Presently I seem to be in constant lack of time, but now and again I suddenly have an evening free, and then I find THE LIST of things I need to read, watch or listen to.

I have only just spotted these nominations @katharsisdrill

Great choices. What a shame you missed the deadline. We will launch the next topic on the first of May.

Don't forget to add the #phctop3 tag so that we can find you.

G

I'll try to be alert this time.

😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11