Finish The Story Contest - Week #51! by @blueeyes8960

in #finishthestory5 years ago (edited)

pgb4fw0svf.jpg

source

sdt8or4wjv.jpg

Today's story was started by @gaby-crb and @calluna

The Devisal of Mr. Dankworth

The familiar ping jerked through my morning haze, the signal of a new email arriving in my inbox, blared from my laptop. I hastily tapped at the volume. My fingers circled around the warm mug in my hand, the hot brush of steam warning me not to take a sip yet. I checked the screen, 16 new emails already this morning. Working from home had seemed so much easier, I never liked the office, or being out on the road, at least at home I had my own brand of coffee, and my cat Neelix, but the emails never stopped.

I cleared through the top 10 as spam, another 5 were easily filed, the last however caught my attention. My eyes focused on the sender name, I hastily placed my mug on the table and clicked the email. The sound of the news playing on the TV melted into the background, even the smell of my burning toast didn't interrupt my focus.

Good day,

My name is Michael Kent, I am the personal attorney and sole executor to my late client, Mr Ian Dankworth, who shares the same surname with you.

After the death of my client, in an automobile incident, in the year 2007, the bank contacted me to provide his next of kin to inherit his fortune, totaling Thirty Seven Million Bruvna ($37,000,000.00) according to the existing bank records.

I have written several letters to his country embassy with the intent of locating any of his immediate or extended family who will stand as the next of kin and all my efforts has been to no avail.

I have received official letters from the board of directors of the holding bank in the last few weeks suggesting a likely precedent for confiscation of his abandoned personal assets in line with existing laws, therefore I have been issued a 30 working days ultimatum to provide his next of kin or forfeit the deposit.

From my professional experience I can use any and all legal means available to re-profile and present you as the next of kin to my deceased client since you share his surname, this would enable you put a claim to the funds on our behalf.

Please kindly indicate your interest by responding to this email so we can discuss further.

Yours sincerely,
Barr. Michael Kent

I glanced at the scuffed bag by the door, I had known Mr Kent would contact me eventually. I was the last person in the country with the surname Dankworth. As my eyes read over the email again, I laughed to myself, this had been easier than I initially thought.

Neelix stalked past the black bag, rubbing up against it, he then stopped and pulled out his claws, pulling at the plastic material.

I stood up fast in an attempt to scare him, knocking my coffee over my laptop in the process. I swore and grabbed at some tissues, watching as the black liquid slowly absorbed. I would forever be cleaning up my own mess.

8z5f1lbvxk.png
My ending to the story:

Neelix had retreated to his favorite spot on the windowsill to lick his paws and watch me scramble to save my laptop. The screen had went black and turning it upside down had been useless, the coffee absorbed and the damage done. Shit! What an inopportune time, just when I’d finally received the notice. Oh well, soon I’d be able to afford the best laptop.

After years of manipulations, my plan was finally coming to fruition. The bag in the corner was my constant reminder of the events leading to this final stage of my revenge.

My heart ached with humiliation remembering the summer of my Grand Tour of EuroNation. Backpacking with friends we often took odd jobs in the vineyards in exchange for a hot meal. When we happened upon Dankwork Vineyards one weary day, I hoped my name being Dankworth would get us preferential treatment.

Dankwork greeted us with a surly snarl, “Be gone all of you beggars thinking to prey upon my fortune for a meal. Off my property before I have you removed.”

I stepped forward and smiled engagingly. “But sir, I came here specifically to meet you. My name is Lacy Dankwork, from the Americas, and perhaps we are related.”

“Related?” he practically roared. “I am certainly not related to a common street urchin such as you. My ancestors can be traced back to the Queen, and you are obviously not of royal descent.” He looked down his nose at us and turned back inside, slamming the door behind him.

I had turned red-faced back to the group to see smirks at my discomfort. At that moment the plot for revenge was hatched. I sent the others on without me and spent the next week holed up in an unused ice house honing my plan.

The car accident that claimed Ian Dankworth’s life was the talk of the countryside. I stayed long enough to attend his funeral and make certain there were no surviving heirs. After that, it was a matter of waiting for his executor to find me.

I sent a reply to attorney Michael Kent, accepting his offer to be presented as the heir to Dankworth’s estate. Neelix left his spot on the windowsill and began rubbing himself against my legs in anticipation of his morning treat. I pushed him away and walked to the bag sitting in the corner. It was time to let it go. With the bag in front of me on the table I removed the gold pocket watch engraved with the initials I.D. on the back. I had liberated it from the corpse’s breast pocket shortly before the casket closed. This was my “proof” that I was related to old Ian. I would say that I had found it with my mother’s things when she passed away, but had never known its history.

Reverently, I took out the other item remaining in the bag - the piece of brake line I had removed from the Bently that fateful morning. Now that the plan had came full circle and I was about to receive my inheritance, I had no need for this reminder. Into the trash it went, along with my coffee soaked laptop. It was time for a new beginning.

blueeyes8960.gif

Coinsplus.jpg

LINK to discord

5ShzsKnKF7vppGeV6VN3m3GSDcLoRruAhMmifZtFSDkYScLtVyWb1vMNEZUd6n8eJ9GR6KR1rEAXSfznQ6tuJnfFFUCrcmnUydT1wuuXmBBjZamfSkSx7R8QtzbrL9NhAYedbrYR5Ezg72WQDmadya61.gif



[credit@EdibleCthulhu]

99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYov37C6BjUdaTZT29DGryrTpwwdpqCgirPemMU3z3txPKvruXNYFGvejqt3VogK8zZfNHzdqCvnNPsC5V9vS9.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Novum kalium pirata.png

Congratulations, you've been selected to receive a 100% potassium enriched upvote from the @bananafish!

We are a safe harbor for every writer and poet. Freedom, solidarity, quality, inclusion: these are our values. Keep an eye on our weekly contests and grow with us in a friendly environment!

Join us! Here's your key to access the Bananafish Realms.

I wonder when she was young and knocking at neighbors' doors during Halloween..never dare to disappoint her! Your writing style is smooth and I love it. I also enjoyed how you passed from the letter to the memory of that nefarious day.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

A new start indeed with the Dankworth money!

Think she'll get away with it and her and Neelix live happily ever after?

Mmh that would be too easy for the evil Ms. Dankworth!

Amazing work, nice job as usual blueeyes8960, I dont know how you do it

Posted using Partiko Android

I dont know either, lol. But i dont know how you can work that poser program and make all that digital art!

You got a 3.00% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @blueeyes8960! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blueeyes8960 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I like this story very much. As part of the Dankworth property, The story should be written soon.

@sipahikara, yes this might be a good one to continue on further. Did she did get away with the murder in the long run?

Damn, now I adore this ending. I love how you developed the character, the history of years, the moment that build up to this. You are a real talent for plots and you definitely delivered again here. You had me hooked from the beginning, I love how firm you were in your direction, you open maintaining the perspective exceptionally well and the flash back to her motive is just seamless. I really like that you used Ian Dankworth as a character, rude old git at that lol. The way you bring Neelix in throughout roots the story so well, and brought a reliability to Lucy that almost contrasts with her as a murder, which feels like a very human touch that I really appreciated. The pocket watch really makes this, it's such a brilliant detail, the final part of her plan coming into play. A really wonderful ending <3

Thank you @calluna for your indepth comment! It makes it so much more fun writing these when you see that someone actually reads them. And takes the time to comment like this!
6tg

Oh my heavens, that's a hard heart. What's the saying about the best laid plans? I'd love to read the rest of the story, when she gets caught.
Well told. You got me disliking this woman very, very much :)

Yes she took being snubbed way too hard!

You can say that again 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95