You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Das Licht--The Light: Finish The Story Contest Week #46

in #finishthestory5 years ago

Benjamin's words echoed. Light and sound united into an energy that drew a circle around husband and wife. Never, even in their most intimate physical moments, had the two been closer.

This paragraph let me into their relationship, and hinted at a lot of drama, distance, sadness and regret.

I enjoyed your take on the Leitner name, a kind of destiny and job and all that. Also, you offered Melinda a chance to redeem herself. Nice take.

Sort:  

I appreciate that, @dirge. I studied a lot of German in college--don't remember most of it--so the name struck me. And I do try not to kill people off too easily, even in a horror story.
So glad you liked my take.

ya i was wondering about the German thing, cause I don't speak a lick of it. But you were up front with it so I assumed you had some experience.

I just looked up common Germanic surnames and went with Leitner cause it sounded kind of nice lol

When we write, we try to find a focus. 500 words is good, because it doesn't allow us to lose focus. Good training, I think for longer pieces. A name, a place, a pet. Whatever. Find it and exploit it, right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85