Sort:  

Congratulations @tristancarax! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1250 replies. Your next target is to reach 1500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I am definitely going to read those books. I was wondering about influences on you as I read your descriptions. Interesting that you're able to identify some of them so clearly.
Lucid dream, indeed. I was especially impressed by hirudiniformes. Had to look that one up.

I attempted to copy some of f3nix use of language. I really like how people can write like that. I'd like to understand how that is done someday.

When f3nix writes like that, he's listening to a voice in his head. He's responding to some feeling he has and he's channeling it through words so we can understand what he sees and feels. His value as a writer exists in his ability to share his unique creative impulse. You have your own voice, your own unique music, almost, that plays in your head and your heart. Your experience is also part of what makes you unique. If you think about it, the writers that most impress you are the ones that don't sound like anyone else.
You're a very interesting person. Let readers see that person and you will stand out from other writers.
Anyway, that's the way I view writing. I look forward to reading more of your writing in the future :)

8-) Thanks for your kind words.

How lovely. Ty! At the beginning of my steemit story, in the freewrite, I was very jealous of my ideas. Then I understood some more things about sharing.

My scene, @tristancarax, was born from a horn sound, Gustav Klimt and the flash of a hand caressing an immense ever-changing sphere. 🙂

A fascinating insight into creativity...the synergy of influences, some conscious and some unconscious. There are few experiences more fulfilling than having all of that come together and creating something new. Thanks for letting us see into your process.

I think that the best seeds come from flashes of intuition. Thanks to you.. we're all unique here in this bananafishious family 😉

@agmoore, opps wrong reply spot. I don't want to get the codes to change it so I'll leave it here.

@erh.germany, I went back and fixed the tense. I stayed in past tense. I read more clearly when I reread it. I've got to watch this. As I read, it's normal for new writers so I'm not doing to shabby.

@bananafish, were do I get me one of those horns? 8-)

At the end of the rainbow! 😁

To get there, would you start from here? 8-)

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and possibly a resteem too.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Your writing style reminds me of computer games. They are set at the highest emotional level, so to speak. They are like a dreamland where everything is possible and you have to face mystical figures. Fight with them or make fantastic journeys. Or fairy tales and films that are presented like immersion-controlled experiences. Your language is a mixture of computer technology and fantasy, I think it is very visual and physical. The word creations are interesting, I agree with @agmoore.

However, I have something to criticize. Please stick to a time, either in the present or in the past tense. You jump between the two and thereby disturb the reading flow. If you get the delivered beginning of the story presented in the past tense, it makes sense to continue using this tense. But in this case I would also like the present form, since you describe a lucid dream. These are often told in the present tense. One then has the feeling of being directly involved.

The curious AI at the end of your story: I had to smile, it has something deeply human;)

Is that a grammatical error or intention in the word "barrings"? Since English is not my mother tongue, I would like to know how to translate it. Or is it "bearings" after all?

Ethan jumped up from his lucid dream when the onboard A.I. turned up the voltage on his exoskeleton suit, rudely shocking him awake. "What did you learn?" it asks, not waiting for him to catch his barrings.

I love the book you mention at the end, the one by Robert Bly. It really is an excellent reading and I have to read it more often to understand it. Maybe I'll get it out of the closet again. Thank you so much for reminding me on it!

Instead of doing English homework, I was playing video games and watching movies. Rarely have I read the story for video games; I've listened more than I've read. 8-)

I'm going to research past/present so that I can avoid doing it so much. I'm getting confused somewhere and I don't know why?

Yes, slilepng is one pelbrom I've got. If I ddin't hvae slpel ccehk, yuo'd be lsot. hahaha! - Now I'm messing with you on purpose, but can you read this.

I'm glad to know I'm not the only one who really enjoyed that book. You'll have to check out the other one as well.

Thanks for your constructive criticism. It's really appreciated on this end (my ego took a hit, but it'll find some other way to do what it does best 8-).

Yes, slilepng is one pelbrom I've got. If I ddin't hvae slpel ccehk, yuo'd be lsot

I lkie yuor hmuor baout it. :)) - LOL

I wonder what is confusing you when you mix the tenses - maybe it helps to check a written story reading it out loud to yourself in order to detect where you mixed past and present tense?

Speaking of ego: critique hurts, that is true. But I guess, as we already commented a bit back and forth from previous finishthestory contests that you got my intention without me revealing that I had a good one.

Let's see if I find time for the other book recommendation. So much to read out there.

Have a good evening :)

I did some research on tenses. I'm going to be clearer from now on, I think. haha!!!

I do have one question. What happens when one has dialogue and is reporting something that is happening or will happen? Example: "The grapes will rot," he said as he walked over to the desk. <-- This is correct, yes.

Part of the trouble I'm having is I really hated English classes the way that schooling teaches it. Truly, I'm amazed I can write at all and even more amazed people actually like, for the most part, what I put out. I need to read up on English grammar again.

On this platform, I'm gaining more confidence and, dare I say, making some good acquaintances that might later on down the road turn out to be friends. I've got to take my foot off the brake, though.

I'm here to learn. My ego needs to get out of the way. It does get in my way when I'm speaking directly with people (I can be stubborn). I really do appreciate the constructive criticism. Please, when you feel like it, you're welcome to engage that way with me.

I do have one question. What happens when one has dialogue and is reporting something that is happening or will happen? Example: "The grapes will rot," he said as he walked over to the desk. <-- This is correct, yes.

So it is. That is correct. If you have insecurities before publishing a story, I would say, make it public on discord and ask if people have time to give you some editor advice. Why not? It's only about 500 words. If it's only grammar and nothing more it's quickly done. You can ask me personally on discord, too. When I got time on my hand I'll help you.

Laughter! I am amazed that you are amazed being able to read and write after your horrible schooling experiences.

Same counts for me and mathematics.

And I am not getting online and daring to participate in math tasks. So that is brave of you.

Yes, if my support is noticed as help, I am willing to engage with you. Ego is always a little disturber. Who is not self centered a lot of the times? But I agree with you, it's better to detach myself from the egotistic appearances. Life is way happier without it:=D

Albedo, nigredo, rubedo. Your final referral to the Alchemist sequence clarified the matrix for this dreamy and allegoric/symbolic Ethan's trip. At times, it reminded me of the Apocalypse of St. John or a painting of Hyeronimus Bosch. I'm impressed by your creative process. As Erika said, mind the present continuous/past perfect swings 😉

Yes, @bananafish. You have told me about the present/past thing before. I need to research that topic to make it more clear for myself. I'm getting myself confused somewhere.

Thanks for reading.

The fiction mad lab is conducting its 38th experiment! You've time till next Wednesday to give life to your fiction creature.. will you dare to play with Nature's rules once again?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97