My first fish eversteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fishing6 years ago (edited)

As per my last post, I have just taken up fishing, with no success so far, but now that has all changed. Success at last!

I bought a new rod, primarily with the purpose of catching Bass. Not the cheapest hobby considering the prices in South Korea nearly twice that of the US or EU. The bigger the brand, the bigger the multiplier as far as prices are concerned. So instead I bought a Korean brand rod, at a slightly more reasonable price, within my budget.

I started fishing mid afternoon on the lake nearest me, the same place as last time. The locals told me it did have a small population of Bass, Carp and a few others.

My first catch was tiny, but it was the most exciting thing I ever experienced (well pretty high up on the list anyways). I never realised the rush it gives you.

20180816_191249.jpg
My first fish from south korea - a large mouth Bass)

So my first catch was a (small) Large Mouth Bass. Very beautiful fish. I quickly took a picture, unhooked it and returned it to the lake from whence it came. Even releasing it felt great, odd considering I was the one who caught it in the first place.

Wanted to experience that rush again, I kept fishing and fishing and fishing, but no bites; until just after the sun set and I was getting ready to pack up, and another fish bit. It was like a shock of electricity down my arm. Slightly bigger this time, a River Tarpon.

20180816_194931.jpg
A river tarpon

It seems the are quite common in the are, but not this particular lake, so very happy. Again quickly unhooked and returned to lake.

Neither fish is an edible species.

I never realised how thrilling it was to catch fish. This will likely be my main hobby while I live in Korea, until my return to the UK next year.

All fished returned to the lake and never kept out longer than necessary. I also hold them in the water, passing water through their lungs, allowing them to recover before letting them safely swim off.

Sort:  

Welcome.
I am a Fish-bot that supports fishing posts.
Thank you for publishing the post and use of the myhuntingfishing,fishing or pl-wedkarstwo tag, which I rewarded with "upvote".
If you care about the development of this bot, all you need is to like this comment, and the power of this fish-bot will grow. Thank you
Witaj.
Jestem Rybo-botem wspierającym tag pl-wedkarstwo i myhuntingfishing
Dziękuje Ci za opublikowanie posta i użycia tagu pl-wedkarstwo lub myhuntingfishing oraz fishing, który nagrodziłem "upvoutem". Jeśli będzie Ci zależało na rozwoju tego rybo-bota wystarczy byś w rewanżu "upwoutował" czyli polubił ten komentarz a moc tego rybo-bota będzie rosła. Dziękuje
Добро пожаловать
Я рыба-бот, который поддерживает рыболовные посты.Спасибо за Ваше сообщение и использование тегов pl-wedkarstwo, fishing или myhuntingfishing который является наградой «upvoutem ». Если вы заботитесь о развитии этого рыцаря, все, что вам нужно сделать, это «взволноваться» в матче-реванше, то есть, как этот комментарий, и сила этого fisboot будет увеличиваться. спасибо

977ed90d51b801891e07b99740d68a9e.gif

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=chaomos
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-first-fish-ever


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

why are the bass not good to eat in Korea? People eat them here in the US, are the lakes polluted or something else. We have tarpon here but they are very big, my first one I caught weighed 74 pounds, I fought it for 45 min, it ran all but one loop of line off my reel, my husband had to start the motor and follow it so I could reel more line in.

Nice idea why no one eats them. The places I fish are polluted but it doesn't stop them eating the carp that are found there. The perception is that they are inedible.

The same applies to the river tarpon and the three lipped chub. Everything else they love. It's weird as they are usually great at cooking and make just about anything taste great

We do not eat tarpon either. I do not know but would think if you cook fish good, I would think they would be ok to eat out of polluted water. I would do research on that if I was you, before eating.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58