Fishing Hooks and Rigs Part 3.

in #fishing6 years ago

The cheese rig. This is part 3 to my guide on hooks and rigs, i mainly use this rig for cheese and other soft baits like strawberries bread paste and banana etc all of which are excellent baits for carp fishing.

For reference, you can find my previous posts here part 1 & part 2

This instalment will cover a short shank Beaked point flat forged hook with an out-turned eye. Commonly called a "choddy hook" in the UK, here in Australia, this is called a suicide hook. Examples are shown below:-

DSC04566.JPG

This pattern is ideal for using with heavy mono filament line due to the straight alignment caused by the line when it exits the eye of the hook which eliminates the need for line aligners and rig tube etc.
The basic parts for the rig are a hook, a spring and approx 15 inch of 15lb mono filament line.

DSC04550.JPG

first, tie the spring on to the end of the mono filament line and set the distance that you want the bait to sit from the hook - in this instance approximately 1cm.

DSC04554.JPG

Threading the line through the back of the eye and making several turns down the shank of the hook, make a knot-less knot.

DSC04555.JPG

Screw the spring into your bait - i'm using cheese.

DSC04557.JPG

The finished rig should look something like this.

DSC04561.JPG

Join me again next time for a different hook pattern. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask.

Stewards.png

Sort:  

Good information there buddy. We do same in Ireland for carp but not a lot of carp spots. Pikes my sport.

Awesome buddy. It's good to see an interest in Fishing / Boating on steemit. I will support you and upvote ECT. To help another fisherman out. Can I kindly ask for your help in supporting a minnow fisherman . I do pike and sea fishing fly fishing and boating around Ireland. It would be cool if you can support me too and help each other out . I will follow you now and upvote you, same for anyone else who is intersted in fishing and boating. Lets all stick together and make a few quid while we do what we love. good luck and tight lines bro. & maybe Check my page to see if it's something you would be interested in. Here is a quick pic and you can find me on Dtube and YouTube/ Facebook
2017-03-20 02.28.17.png @generalpatton. Northern Ireland Fishing reports.

Done a lot of fishing in Ireland when i was visiting relatives in Derry - Ballymoney - Ballymena ... Great bream fishing on the Shannon. Sea fishing on the west coast was awesome :)

Yes mate get some cracker fish off west coast. I'm going to try and take the shetland there this year. Looking for a big skate. Good to meet a fellow fisherman and if you ever fancy a jump over the pond gime a shout.

I live in Adelaide South Australia - Long way to go for a spot of fishing :) - its only 30mins to the coast so it's not far to go get some squid or flathead. We also get big stingrays, they are pretty easy to catch and a 50lb ray can put a good bend in the rod and feed the family for a month :)

Wow Australia. That's class. Yeah a real long way to go lol. 50lbr I wouldn't complain having that kind of fishing close by. Well tight lines buddy and il upvote your posts. Good luck

Once again, you have completely surprised me by fishing with a bait that I consider "weird." Always interesting.

As you probably already know, very few people fish for European carp in the USA. We also have something called a sucker fish that lives in the Great Lakes. They are just as unpopular as the carp, but on advice from someone I work with I decided to catch one and cook it. I sauteed fillets in butter with a little salt and it was delicious. The problem with it is that it is a very boney fish and cannot be filleted to avoid them. The fish is best canned so that the bones become soft and almost indistinguishable from the flesh. Unfortunately carp in our Michigan lakes and rivers are quite contaminated with heavy metals and PCB's. Is contamination an issue in your waters as well? I did not read where you eat your catch.

Yes, contamination can be a problem here. There are often black water events that kill all the fish. - realtreebivvy

If you ever come to Michigan bring your tackle. We have lots of carp and its good eating cousin the buffalo fish. Our record carp was over 61 pounds or 27.7 kg see page 35 of this fishing guide: http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dnr/2018-MI-Fishing-Guide-WEB_615716_7.pdf

Wow - cant believe you can't fish in Michigan without a licence and id - they seem pretty strict with the removal of your private rights. 61lb is a good fish - and probably not the largest, well worth getting the rods out for a beast like that :)

You can fish without a license here. Just don't get caught. We are a more liberal state so everything has a fee and we are heavily taxed.

It's the same in Canada although last summer a friend told me that my area has become popular with carp fisherman from Europe. If they are a fish that take on the flavour of the water, they can taste really good coming from clean water. I know some people who think of pike as muddy tasting but I have only ever had them from Manitoulin Island and it's know for having some of the cleanest water in the Great Lakes.

I think we just don't fish for carp or suckers because we have so many better tasting fish.

I like pike. I usually filet them around the "Y" bones, but this year I am going to try and pull them out as we do with trout and salmon pin bones. I hate wasting the flesh between the bones so I'm hoping it goes well.

I'm not as familiar with the bone pattern in pike, but my Dad used to like making perch fillets into little pants.

Do the carp just suck up the bait and the hook comes along for the ride?
I would've assumed the bait needed to be physically on the hook.

In the UK we call that a hair right. Or knotless hooking .it's designed to hook the carp in bottom lip nicer clean hook method looks after the fish. Barbless hooks too. I do a bit of fishing here in Northern Ireland. That's what I do on steemit and Dtube.

You are absolutely correct :) carp can suck the bait in from a few inches away and the food goes to the back of the carps throat where the teeth are - the teeth look like human molars - that's how they can eat hard baits like nuts and yabbies. With the bait directly on the hook, you can pull the bait back out of the mouth without getting a hook hold. These rigs are good for any fish that feeds this way - mainly those without teeth in their mouth.

I'd have gone fishing for ten years without thinking of that. So glad others before us have put in the hours :)

Congratulations @realtreebivvy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58