You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building a Better Body (Part 2): The “Why”

in #fitness6 years ago

This is a great topic to discuss. Though, physical training is what I love to do and have been doing for years, I feel that I'm not partial to the spirit of the article, which is to achieve a goal.

I started training in 2008 with a goal in mind, and that was to burn fat and get in shape. After accomplishing that goal, my training continued but this time the goal was to maintain my shape. I did fall off the wagon in between and gained fat again, then burned it off, gained it back and burned it off again. At times, a weight gain was due to losing control of my diet. Other times, it depended on what goal I had in mind.

Fast-forward to 2018. My purpose for training has evolved. I no longer train with a goal in mind. I train simply because it feels good, it's fun and to maintain my strength. But, most importantly, I see training (weight-lifting and cardio) as a way of life for some of the reasons you mentioned. I'm not stopping unless I either get bored with it (unlikely) or if I'm physically incapable of training. I will continue no matter how old I am. It just so happens that I get physical results along the way.

Sort:  

The place you’ve come to in your training is a perspective born of long experience, and the healthiest way to approach anything, really.

The present now moment is no less important than the future now moment. Even if we do have a goal - and thus make the future a consideration in the present - it should not be at the expense of the present.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84