I lost 40 lbs in 6 months and it wasn't that difficult (part 2)

in #fitness6 years ago

Part 2: The triathlon prep

So if you are following the entire story you may wish to first check out part one where I explain about how I became a chunky-butt in the first place here.

After I accepted the offer to participate in a triathlon I have to admit that I was worried. I hadn't really done anything physical in a long time and now I had just signed up to do one of the most physically demanding things that you can do and only had 2 months to prepare... I had my doubts but now I had something to focus my negative energy on. I was certainly not in athletic shape.

16731152_10212110841588353_2141149034_n.jpg
one of my least favorite pictures of myself, of course with a beer

1014473_10152274423925659_1711460086_n.jpg
included this one because someone once asked if i play guitar.. .kind of, and i was fat

Fortunately there is a gym here near my house that has a 50 meter lap pool so I could measure how far I can swim. The triathlon distance is 1.8km and takes place in the ocean. So that means I need to do a mere 36 laps right? I brought a stopwatch in order to see how much i needed to improve in order to not get disqualified.

The first day, I could barely finish 10 laps and I nearly called the boys to cancel. I was extremely frustrated that this was the best i could do and I'm just going to let us down if I am on the team. I decided to give it a week first and if I hadn't improved I would cancel and this would give them time to find an alternate.

You see, this is the hardest part about being overweight: Perhaps you remember what you could do when you were a kid and now that you can't do that anymore it is exceptionally frustrating. Perhaps you are dillusional about how you are definitely going to suck at anything cardio when you have essentially been sitting on your ass and drinking beer for the past 5 years. Rather than face embarrassment you just give up. I didn't give up and instead decided to come up with a plan: leave the stopwatch at home and simply try to do 12 laps the next day.

This strategy helped a lot. it was ridiculous of me to try to do time trials on day 1 and i was just wearing myself out. I actually found that after doing 12 laps on the second day without a timer I still had enough energy to do 6 more. The following day I did 20 laps. By the end of the first week i was doing the entire 36. I had no idea how fast i was doing it but as it turns out this is a much better way to start. I'm only competing against my desire to quit and any time i wanted to give up I just remember about how much I hated the fat dude in the mirror.

20180511_165954.jpg
a sign on the wall at the gym

I don't want to spend too much time talking about this because I actually did not lose much weight preparing for the triathlon because while I did go out drinking less, i still went out drinking quite a lot and I was still eating just whatever.

Basically, i found out that in order to not get disqualified I needed to finish in less than 1 hour and 10 minutes. In the pool, without anyone in my way, i was able to complete the 1.8km in about 55 minutes after nearly 2 months of training. The day of the race I guess my adrenaline was pumping because I had not trained in ocean conditions more than a couple times. There were waves, there were jellyfish, there were people kicking me in the head and my arms and legs were hitting other people.

LPT18-Swim-Course-Map-724x1024.jpg

However, by the end of it all when I RAN through the "finish line" where I tagged in my friend to do the bike portion (and the announcer poked fun at me for wearing boardshorts instead of professional triathlon getups,) i had no idea what my time was but I collapsed on the ground after passing the timekeeping strap to our bike guy. I later found out that I had finished the 1.8 km, in conditions I had never faced before, in 46 minutes. I finished ahead of 100 other people (to be fair a lot of these people were conserving energy because they had to do the bike and ALSO the run) and once I caught my breath I was very proud of myself.

We ended up getting DQ'd anyway because our bike guy was completely full of s&*t and had not prepared properly. He finished a full 2 hours after the cut off point. We are still angry at him about this. I'm just happy it wasn't me that made this happen, because i fully expected that if anyone failed us. It would be me.

So i know that the title of this thread is "how I lost 40 lbs in 6 months" and so far I haven't given any insight into how I made this happen. Or have I?

Basically, anyone can sit at home and decide to change something about themselves and normally people choose ludicrous objectives that are also very vague. Such as "I'm gonna lose 40 pounds!"

I never set such an objective because there is no real clear path to this. I said to myself "I'm gonna finish this triathlon!" Even that was too vague as I found out my first week in the pool. I found out that you can't go from "zero to hero" on the first day. I needed something more clear and achievable. In my case this was to simply finish 2 laps more than i could do the day prior.

My objective upon starting this wasn't even to lose weight, it was to not let my pals down.

So in a way I am saying the first step to losing weight (as was the case in my situation) was to introduce something in my life that was completely different than what I normally do. Changing my routine. Getting out of the chair and just do something! The hardest part about going to the gym (for me) was leaving my house and going to the gym. Once i was on my bike i was committed and something better than nothing was going to happen.

In part 3 I will get to the nitty gritty so to speak about how I actually lost the weight.

Sort:  

As a teenager, I was a competitive swimmer and could spend hours in the water. But there is something about the combination of swimming, cycling, and running that appeals to me or rather, challenges me.

I finally signed up for my first short distance triathlon for life, 7 weeks before the Day. I was inspired after watching a reality show that tells how a woman overweight practiced for 6 months to complete the triathlon with a standard distance.

I was so motivated that night, and perhaps too confident, thinking that since I exercise regularly and not overweight, I would be able to complete my first triathlon in less than two months!

do it buddy! I don't think i can do all three... but i didn't think i could do one a year ago. Here's to the future.

yes thanks for your support ..

Excellent story, although a piece is missing what you have told until the second part is incredible, there may be many people here who go through a similar situation and with your history motivate, although that has to come from oneself, but a certain push is not the rest. You were very constant and persevering and that helped you a lot, that time was not in your favor the first day was not an obstacle for you and what you say you are right "you can not go from zero to hero the first day" is very difficult, there always has to be a continuous improvement and shows of it the day of the competition you gave the best. I congratulate you, I hope for part 3.

i just finished part 3. honestly i think i made it too long. I do that somtimes :)

My biggest problem is alcohol and crypto trading.. I'm not real food motivated but I have a hard time staying off the sauce (BOREDOM!). I think I'll try going 3 days without starting today just to force something different. I liked your example of the laps and timer, I'm not sure that is specifically for me, but maybe I guess that's the point. I'll go out and give it a try after the 3 days are up.

you and I have the same problem as far as alcohol is concerned. I just switched what i drank alcohol-wise, not the amount

After reading your post, think that you are very health conscious....The body will always keep fit...Life is beautiful and is dependent on mind. If the head is healthy then the mind will also be good.To keep body fit, regular sports, various exercises should be done.I think swimming is very big exercise. To keep a good balance, you have to swim every day.........

I was the opposite of health conscious for many years. It is very easy to let it slip and I never thought it would be me until it was.

So in a way I am saying the first step to losing weight (as was the case in my situation) was to introduce something in my life that was completely different than what I normally do. Changing my routine. Getting out of the chair and just do something! The hardest part about going to the gym (for me) was leaving my house and going to the gym.

This is a hint on what I should do to keep fit. One has to be determined and focused on the course cause it gets tiring. I need to change somethings in my routine

or just actually go to the gym and do whatever. Today i went to the gym with a half-assed attitude and only did a few things. However, this is much better than the nothing i would have done if i had not gone at all. :)

Hahaha, your story is very good. I'm following the story. You're right, sometimes we just need a motivation to do something that we can not solve overnight. Unfortunately, our weight can be frustrating and I tell you because many of us have gone through that. We do everything possible to lose weight and we do not see results. Of course, there are always people who blame us for it. After that for some reason you do it, well this happened to me. Then, you are criticized for being so thin. The truth is, I think people are always going to criticize. They will always have something to say. My opinion is to be well with oneself. I am pleased to know that your initiative to prepare helped you achieve that goal in the medium term.

hi, and thanks for reading. While i never faced any outside criticize I am sure there were people looking at the fat guy in the pool and saying "what is fatty doing?"... which kind of goes back to how awful people can be. "Fatty" is trying to change his life and the only person that was criticizing him was himself and I think that is ok. I'm sorry that people were mean to you... they never were to me, but that is probably because i was over 200 lbs and I live in Asia where everyone is a lot smaller than me. haha

Ohhhh!!! I had forgotten that little detail haha

I'm just happy it wasn't me that made this happen, because i fully expected that if anyone failed us. It would be me.

Lool you sure would have hated yourself

Getting out of the chair and just do something! The hardest part about going to the gym (for me) was leaving my house and going to the gym.

Thank you for this advice and sharing this experience, i will like to also add that, anyform of exercise is very essential and vital to being fit and healthy, it should be made an habit

Hahahaha, when you were a boy. That was decades ago and you can't possibly go back.
I love the fact of not giving up instead devising a means to keep pushing.

You see, this is the hardest part about being overweight: Perhaps you remember what you could do when you were a kid and now that you can't do that anymore it is exceptionally frustrating. Perhaps you are dillusional about how you are definitely going to suck at anything cardio when you have essentially been sitting on your ass and drinking beer for the past 5 years. Rather than face embarrassment you just give up. I didn't give up and instead decided to come up with a plan: leave the stopwatch at home and simply try to do 12 laps the next day.

Lovely story, you have some wonder and intriguing memories and gald your sharing it with us, i am motivated after reading this article, i feel like is never to late to set a target and achieve it

This fitness series gets better and more interesting. Simply can't wait for the third part. Keep them coming @gooddream

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97