Why I always capitalize BETTER.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fitness6 years ago

I have about 20,000 hours of fitness training in the books.
1 on 1, small groups, large groups, and online working with a huge array of different fitness goals and starting points from elite athletes to those just starting out on their journey.
And I've loved working with every one of them.

For those that have worked with me for even a short period of time, you know that I'm a huge fan of BETTER.

I feel that the #1 obstacle most people face in reaching their goals is their obsession with perfect, in one form or another.
The day people realize that "perfect" will never happen...is the day they start recognizing the progress they've already accomplished and start enjoying the lifelong process of "fitness".

If you're looking for that perfect body, it won't happen. There's always something that we could improve, someone that looks better (according to someone), and the age clock keeps ticking aways fighting the efforts we put in.

If you're looking for the perfect workout...don't. There are too many variables, and too many ways to improve or just change those variables.

Perfect diet? Buahahahaha!
Just no. Stop jumping from plan to plan hoping for the stars to align "this time".

Fitness, health, happiness is about constant progress. It's about BETTER. Realize this, and your world changes. Instead of hitting your head against the wall for not being perfect after years of trying, celebrate the fact that you are BETTER than you were yesterday because you worked out (imperfectly) and ate (mostly) healthy. Trade out the time you spend reading about the latest diet in Cosmo for thinking of the #1 eating habit keeping you from BETTERment and substituting it with a healthy alternative (that you like!).

BETTER. It's not about perfect. It's about recognizing one thing (big or little) that is keeping you from your goals and committing to doing a little bit BETTER today. BETTER now than we were yesterday, last week, last year. You like guarantees? Here's one for you: "Perfect", you won't achieve. 100% guaranteed. BETTER...absolutely. Every single day you can achieve BETTER.

If I can help, I'd love to.

Ready?
GO!

Screen Shot 2017-05-01 at 11.56.24 AM.png

Sort:  

I'll check it out, thanks!

There are so many subtle mental blocks that arise when we strive for perfection. With perfection there's no room for mistakes...and making mistakes are vital to make the proper corrections that lead us towards a more "perfect" performance. I like to focus on doing my very best in every moment. That to me, is true perfection.

Thank you for this inspiring post @jjudd! I'd love to hear your thoughts about my recent post: This Is How My Greatest Struggles Became My Greatest Strengths

Exactly! Great to hear from those with similar outlooks. I'll check out the post. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68