Bench fail and a good squat workout.

in #fitness6 years ago

Hey guys!

Since I missed my bench press post yesterday, I'm combining that with today's squat post.

image

Unfortunately, I failed my top set on bench yesterday, which is partly why I didn't even bother with a post. I was pretty annoyed.
Warm up I may have been a little too ambitious, because I added in bench press with 95 lbs, but I kind of don't think that's the issue since its so light and I only did a few reps of it.
I was also feeling weaker with the accessory work, I only got 2 reps of the top banded bench set and last week it was 4.
The conditioning was fine.
6 rounds for time:

  • Bench 115 + band - 10 reps
  • Step up - 20 reps
  • Double under - 50

I was planning on doing only 4 rft but I pushed it to 6 since I was mad at myself for failing the top set.

Ok, that's all there is to say about that haha.

Squat workout overview:
image
Pretty routine workout.
The warm up was a good quad roaster.
We upped our weights on front squats like I said we might. They moved fine, and 275 is technically a PR because I've never even tried that much. However, I think if I were fresh, I could get closer to 300.

The conditioning was actually pretty good. Easy enough to go without stopping to rest, but enough to keep us sweating.

I hope you guys have been working out, and putting the reps in the challenge.

I believe my reps on bench day were something like 627, and today they were 460. Definitely trying to keep the reps up in the higher range lately, mainly because I'm seeing just a little more tummy fluff than I'd like lol.

Next week is the final week of the program, then we'll go for some PRs. I'm actually not too optimistic haha oh well, I'm sure my deadlift will go up but not too sure about bench or squat.
We'll just have to wait and see.

Hope you guys have a great weekend!

Sort:  

Great work m8 keep it up.
You will go up in bench as long as you keep training. Don't be annoyed with yourself if you didn't get what you did the week before, maybe your body wasn't fully recovered or maybe you just didn't have the energy or maybe it was a tough week at work and you weren't ready mentally.

So many factors, I have those weeks where I don't do as well as the week before. But in the long run I always get stronger, just keep pushing yourself and you will get there.

Sometimes if I struggle I take some weight off and go higher reps to improve muscle endurance, then hitting the heavy sets becomes easier ;)

Yeah unfortunately this program I'm on is strict about the numbers. Typically I would just lower the weight and say screw it but I'm trying to stay 100% on target, for disciplines sake. Next time I'll probably try a program that utilizes RPE which will give me the freedom to adjust weights as I see fit. I'm looking forward to that, cause some of these workouts have been rough LOL

I agree, so many things have been going on between my work, my wife's, the kids getting sick, and lack of sleep due to everything combined ha. But hey life's gonna happen so we just gotta try to push through it!
Thanks for the motivation and positivity!

Ahh yep what program are you doing?
I have developed my own program which has evolved over the last 5 years I have been training.

Yep sometimes life happens and it affects our training, but the important thing is you stuck at it and didn't give up :)
No worries it's good we can motivate each other

I'm doing a free program Brian Alsruhe gave out on his youtube channel. The gist of it is dynamic warm up, 3 working sets, accessory exercise, conditioning. Its a 9 week program, divided into 3 week blocks. The weights for working sets increase 5% per block so its set up as follows:
Weeks 1-3
65% - 8 reps
75% - 6
85% - 4+ (if you can get past the set reps, go for as may as possible.)
Weeks 4-6
70% - 6
80% - 4
90% - 2+
Weeks 7-9
75% - 5
85% - 3
95% - 1+
I also increase the weights of my accessory exercises in each block. Conditioning is usually some sort quick of crossfit workout.

Ahh ok I will have to check it out

He's given out multiple free programs, among a ton of other very useful content. Check out his YouTube

Cheers m8 :)

great work brother :)
i haven't been working out for a week now lol
just came back from japan!
gotta burn all the sushi haha

Dang I bet that was sick! Now you got me craving sushi!

yeah man!
great country! <3
hahah dude the food is amazing!!!
you have to go to japan if you haven't gone there yet :)

Congratulations @myleskshupe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49