You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bench fail and a good squat workout.

in #fitness6 years ago

Great work m8 keep it up.
You will go up in bench as long as you keep training. Don't be annoyed with yourself if you didn't get what you did the week before, maybe your body wasn't fully recovered or maybe you just didn't have the energy or maybe it was a tough week at work and you weren't ready mentally.

So many factors, I have those weeks where I don't do as well as the week before. But in the long run I always get stronger, just keep pushing yourself and you will get there.

Sometimes if I struggle I take some weight off and go higher reps to improve muscle endurance, then hitting the heavy sets becomes easier ;)

Sort:  

Yeah unfortunately this program I'm on is strict about the numbers. Typically I would just lower the weight and say screw it but I'm trying to stay 100% on target, for disciplines sake. Next time I'll probably try a program that utilizes RPE which will give me the freedom to adjust weights as I see fit. I'm looking forward to that, cause some of these workouts have been rough LOL

I agree, so many things have been going on between my work, my wife's, the kids getting sick, and lack of sleep due to everything combined ha. But hey life's gonna happen so we just gotta try to push through it!
Thanks for the motivation and positivity!

Ahh yep what program are you doing?
I have developed my own program which has evolved over the last 5 years I have been training.

Yep sometimes life happens and it affects our training, but the important thing is you stuck at it and didn't give up :)
No worries it's good we can motivate each other

I'm doing a free program Brian Alsruhe gave out on his youtube channel. The gist of it is dynamic warm up, 3 working sets, accessory exercise, conditioning. Its a 9 week program, divided into 3 week blocks. The weights for working sets increase 5% per block so its set up as follows:
Weeks 1-3
65% - 8 reps
75% - 6
85% - 4+ (if you can get past the set reps, go for as may as possible.)
Weeks 4-6
70% - 6
80% - 4
90% - 2+
Weeks 7-9
75% - 5
85% - 3
95% - 1+
I also increase the weights of my accessory exercises in each block. Conditioning is usually some sort quick of crossfit workout.

Ahh ok I will have to check it out

He's given out multiple free programs, among a ton of other very useful content. Check out his YouTube

Cheers m8 :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69305.77
ETH 3681.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25