Why Mental Health should come before anything else.

in #fitness6 years ago

It's been awhile since I've made an appearance, but here I am! IMG_3384.JPG

A lot has been going on in my life - most bad, some good. Whether good or bad, I'm conquering the struggles. It's a constant struggle, but I'm hanging in there.
One of the bigger decisions I've had to make was withdrawing from my powerlifting competition that I've been training for. I injured my knee while squatting. Although it wasn't anything serious, it was enough to terrify me from squatting heavy for a long while. My knees are one of the most important joints of my body, I don't want to risk a lifetime full of complications for a single powerlifting meet. It was tough to make the decision to not compete anymore, but I had to do what was best for my body.
Another bigger decision I've made in recent times was opening up my marriage to a polyamorous relationship, rather than monogamous. This has brought a lot of negative emotions into my life, and it's something I'm dealing with everyday. However, I know that this is what's best for my husband and I, and I'm willing to make sacrifices - more so compromises.
The last bigger decision I've made was picking a doctor and date to schedule my breast revision! I am extremely excited for that because it's something that I've been doing my research on, and I'm confident I've made the right choice.

With all these decisions going on, mentally, I have become extremely overwhelmed. Personally, I'm either high on life or down in the dumps. I've been trying to combat this with mindfulness and being in the present moment, but some days I JUST CANT.
Anyway, I just wanted to share a little with what I was going through and why I haven't been active lately.
Checking in with your mental health weekly is essential for happiness.

Lots of Love,
Quynne

Sort:  

really nice post sir.. & amazing writing...

thanks @quynnetessential for share...

hey @zahidul0 thanks for stopping by and thank you for the compliments!

most welcome sir...

Well I wish you the best in your near future. I find that many people on Steemit are very supportive including myself. I am glad you decided to take care of your body and think you should feel proud of your openness to have a polyamorous relationship. I hope you have better days and support you!

Thank you so much for your support! I really appreciate it. It's getting easier to make decisions when I have the future in mind.

Yes, i agree! Most people live in the now and don't prepare for their future. Its good to see your thinking the big picture. Good luck! :)

Thanks! :) With most people living in the now and not preparing for their future, I think a lot of them get stuck in a habit loop; going through the motions. Life is all about balance

Yeah i hear you! I have been there and done that. Now my happiness is what drives me, even if it made be a hard decision at the time. I know my future is what matters.

Sorry for the late reply! Sounds like you're on the right path though! :)

No worries! We all get busy so I understand. How are things going with you?

things are going great! I just posted a few hours ago sharing an update. This past week has been really good all around. I feel a lot more slower to anger and more loving. How have you been?

Wow it sounds like you have a lot on your mind & not being able to do what you love makes this time even more stressful! I hope you're gonna be able to do squats again and I hope that everything turns to the best soon! It's important to take some time for yourself to be able to live a happy life! :)

Aww thank you! :) I've been doing a lot of soul searching lately. Sometimes even that stresses me out because I feel like there's something I HAVE to find, when in reality I just need to be doing the little things that'll have a ripple effect on bigger things in my life.

Glad to get a living sign by you Qyunne.
Less glad to read more negative news about your life than positive ones.
Hope you find the right track back very soon and that the problems will leave.
Try not to spend too much time on the negative things, but try to change them into good things, or try at least to find new positive things.
Best wishes for you and your future decisions!!
Regards,
Jason

Thank you so much Jason! I've been learning more on how to find the positive through the negatives. Just like a coin, there are two sides to everything. When we see the negative, we just need to flip it over for a better day.
I hope life is treating you well!

Good comparison with the coin..
On bad days follow good days, just as reminder.
I am well, thank you.
Work and university take much time but I still take my time to visit the gym as often as possible.
I left you another message in the chat. :)

Nice post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60955.99
ETH 2884.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63