Xiaomi Mi 2 Composition Scale - Is this something worth buying? I have tested it! :)

in #fitness3 years ago

A few weeks ago, our bathroom scale was destroyed. I promise you, it wasn't because I was overweight and destroyed it by stepping on it. And it wasn't destroyed because it showed such a high number that I threw it around in anger either. For some reason, it just stopped working! I wouldn't really care, because I don't spend much time thinking about my weight, but I know that my wife would feel terrible if she couldn't check her weight regularly. As a result, I had to find a new one!

I am a big fan of Xiaomi, so I thought - why not buy the Xiaomi Mi 2 Composition Scale. After all, it wasn't much more expensive than a normal weight would be, and it would in addition add some cool features that I thought it would be cool to try.

box.jpg

The Xiaomi Mi 2 Composition Scale came in a nice box, and I immediately discovered that it is heavier than the normal weight we have had so far. But, that doesn't really matter, because it still isn't heavy, and it is easy to move around with your feet. When you unbox it, you will see a weight looking something like this.

scale.jpg

The four "silver" points at the scale are used to do the detailed measuring of your body. In other words, this weight will not only measure your actual weight, but it will also measure and tell you more about your BMI score, your body fat percentage, water percentage, protein percentage, basal metabolism, visceral fat, muscle mass, and bone mass. To check all of these data for your own body, you will need to have the MI Fit application installed on your mobile device. Since I already have a Xiaomi Smart Band, I already had this application, so it was no extra fuzz installing it.

Based on all the measurements done, you will also see some other indicators including body age, ideal weight, and body type.

Isn't that cool? Suddenly jumping on the scale to see your weight turns into so much more. I actually find it to be very amusing, and the results I have seen are even more amusing!

Is this really useful?

First of all, if you just want to check your weight, then you can just stand on the weight and it will show it to you quickly. The display is easy to see, making it easy to see your weight, even in a very dark, or in a very bright room.

weight.jpg

But, what about all the other data?
This is when things get amusing. I must admit, my wife isn't satisfied with her weight and so, she has a perfect body according to the scale and the data. I, however, who happens to be quite satisfied and who is said to be a quite slim and tall guy, I have too much body fat, insufficient water, and I don't seem to reach my goals for basal metabolism. In addition, I have quite high visceral fat. I am not far away from the "good" values, but still - I am receiving a little warning in those areas.

But, my BMI, muscle weight, protein level, bone mass, and so are good. And even better, my body age is 32 years, something I think I should be happy about.

scale measurement.jpg

What to make of all of this?

I find this to be an amusing scale. I don't think I can trust the values entirely, but it for sure will give you a little pinpoint about how you are your body is doing. It will also measure and track progress within the application, making it easy to see how your weight and your values and improving or getting worse over time.

You can also use the application to check your balance. For this to happen, you have to step onto the scale with one leg and close your eyes. Depending on how long you will be able to stand like this before falling of the scale, it will measure your balance!

My final thoughts about the MI 2 Composition Scale

It wasn't much more expensive than a normal weight, and based on that, it is giving me a lot of fun, and also some useful information about me, my body, my progress, and other stuff. As a result, I can warmly recommend it to anyone and everyone.

If you are serious about all those additional values, you should probably go see a professional and not trust the scale entirely. But, if you are just exercising and having fun and want to track your progress, this scale will give you quite a lot of help in the process.

Hope you have enjoyed the reading. If you have any questions, comments, or own experience that you would like to share, please write - I would love to hear from you!

Sort:  

I have always been a bit curious about these scales and sometimes feel as though it is a little too "magic" to be accurate. The ones that they have at high-end gyms where you grab some handles and they get a readout of your body fat and all this other stuff seems dubious to me.

I'm not saying it is bullcrap, but I just don't understand how it could possibly know all that stuff about you. I know that when I went to use the one they have at the gym and the personal trainers swear are accurate, I still had my doubts. Maybe it is accurate, maybe it is a bunch of bullhicky, I honestly have no idea.

Truth be told though, I wouldn't mind having one of my own!

The one I bought costed me about $20, so it isn't the biggest investment, and just for the sake of fun, it is actually quite interesting. And it would be cool to see what data it would give for you, considering that you are very fit, big muscles, and little body fat! :)

Once again, it is mostly about having fun for me and to see how it will improve or give me worse data over time. Thanks for letting me know your thoughts and giving me your feedback on the subject!

Yeah mi company product are best i have tried smartphone of xiaomi in country they are cheaper and best . By the way friend keep an eye on your weight and your wife's weight it good to have controlled weight for good health @unbiasedwriter

Thanks for dropping by, and yes, I am a big fan of the Xiaomi phones as well :) And I will make sure to do my best to keep my body in shape, and encourage my wife to do the same!

thanks you so much. kindly keep in touch for positive chat @unbiasedwriter

For the very first time in my life I had experienced with the "Xiaomi" yes it didn't disappointed me.. few weeks ago I bought Xiaomi poco x3 pro simply it's beast... trust me Xiaomi is very promising brand..!

Brother Kindly Check My post and plz upvote My Post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62498.25
ETH 3177.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79