You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My thoughts on flags for disagreement on rewards

in #flags6 years ago (edited)

I disagree with regards to flagging to reduce potential post rewards. As you mentioned, there are numerous examples of posts earning a vastly disproportionate payout, and we know what they are: spam, bot abuse, plagiarism, and the like. However, when it comes to genuine disagreement over the reward v. the content of the post, a flag in this regard negates the stake used by other users to reward the author. Functionally, I know that's not how it works, but ultimately that's what it comes down to. User A upvotes a post and brings it $12, let's say. User B comes by, takes a look, and flags it, reducing the net effect of that $12 down to $3. In effect, User B is telling User A, "no no, you made a mistake. Here, let me fix it for you."

It can be called reward pool reallocation or any other term, but that's essentially what it boils down to: "I know better than you what deserves these rewards, so let me fix your mistake."

My suspicion with regards to the whitepaper is that the intent was to guide users to downvote blatantly cheap posts to fight upvoting collusion, i.e. three-line posts upvoted by a group of people to guarantee curation rewards. I could be wrong, and @ned should clarify the intent of that particular guidance, but that's my impression after being here for more than a year.

Sort:  

It can be called reward pool reallocation or any other term, but that's essentially what it boils down to: "I know better than you what deserves these rewards, so let me fix your mistake."

This is the reason I call out on disagreement on rewards as commie BS. Nobody has the right to interfere with another persons rewards that were gained without breaking the NAP. Reward pool rape is a manufactured crime and Reward re-distribution is simply just communism. Since when did the blockchain space went adopting from Marx and Mao?

Re-distribution is an infringement on a persons property and his/her sweat of the brow.

Agreed. Unless there's some sort of unjustifiable gaming of the system, there is no ethical reason to "balance" reward payouts on good content. It's arbitrary and arrogant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79