You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My thoughts on flags for disagreement on rewards

in #flags7 years ago (edited)

I wrote some posts about 8-9 months ago with a solution for how to mostly eliminate the need for 'disagreement over reward' downvotes:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@demotruk/flagging-over-rewards-is-necessary-but-also-toxic

https://steemit.com/steemit/@demotruk/up-and-down-votes-are-a-big-part-of-the-problem-on-steemit

Sort:  

Yeah I'm starting to think downvotes would be a lot better for the health of the platform. We can have the flags for the usual abuse, but having 10 votes a day to downvote with as well and maybe even receive curation rewards on them depending on how many others flag after you would do good.

Thankfully we are still in beta. :P

Thankfully we are still in beta

I wouldn't be so sure this will last. @relativityboy commented on a recently ticket I opened on GitHub that

We've been progressively moving away from 'beta' branding. [...] Expect the remaining beta tags [on the logo] to disappear in the coming months.

Exciting!

I prefer the 'downvote' conceptually over 'flag', but I still think about 90% of the time neither would be necessary if we introduced payout recommendations.

Why not both down vote and flag? I think it would be good to partially separate them out, where a down vote affects payout but not visibility or rep, and flag does everything it does now.

Perhaps put this in a post, open the discussion, and give feedback to the devs?

Really this would be a major upgrade, but it would also help separate payout from flagging where I notice where even non-negative accounts at 1-10 routinely disappear from Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78