You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The dentist said that if my children didn't use fluoridated toothpaste they risked tooth damage and multiple dentist visits.

in #fluoride6 years ago

This is the best video on this topic I have seen for this kind of circumstance:

You can also search the 1000s of studies at http://fluoridealert.org for more info. :/

Sort:  

Thanks for that. I am going to sit down this weekend and do a bit of research into this and try to include the children. I watched about 15 mins of the video so far and it talked about water fluoridation. Luckily South West Water doesn't add any to my supply which makes me wonder if giving my children fluoridated toothpaste might not be so bad. I don't want to but my girlfriend keeps saying about it.

Thanks for taking the time to reply with such useful info. Much appreciated.

No problem. Fluoride exposure and intoxication is cumulative, meaning that regular low exposure becomes a big problem over time. The fluoride levels in toothpaste and particularly mouthwash are HUGE in comparison to water levels. Fluoride is absorbed through the skin and soft tissues, so any exposure can be an issue. The water board in Essex, where I used to live, informed me that 'we don't add fluoride, so if you find any in there it was added by the government!' - which was their way of getting out of liability for it being in the water. I have a digital water meter that measures fluoride and found the levels there to be higher than the WHO recommended guidelines (which themselves were lowered later and which many scientists say are still too high). In short, we need a lot more awareness of this topic, it is a minefield. Note: the 'fluoride' added to water and toothpate is not actually natural fluoride, it is a toxic by-product of the phosphate mining industry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61974.94
ETH 3126.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77