How do you stay focused when - SQUIRREL!

in #focus6 years ago

So you have likely seen the joke going around for a long time… a person is talking and all of a sudden they see a squirrel, and yell “SQUIRREL” and are immediately distracted and cannot finish their thought. I am not sure where the joke originated from, but a perfect example is the dog from the movie “Up” – you are saying/doing one thing, but then getting completely derailed by something else!

I wish this happened to me less often, but it is happens to be that I can get distracted and lose track of what I was thinking/working on really quickly. Around where I live, there are many squirrels – here is a healthy one I saw the other day:

2091E6C6-9E38-4C56-8A9C-1837CBB32BC0.jpeg

Well, it got me thinking, what are some good ways to stay focused so you can tend to the task at hand, instead of getting easily distracted by the latest “squirrel” to walk by. Here is a great article I found on the web that gives practical tips for staying focused at work: https://www.businessinsider.com/how-to-stay-focused-2015-11#meditate-2

I think some of the tips that are most applicable and have worked in the past for me are the following:

  • Minimize multitasking

  • Establish a to-do list

  • Try a small amount of caffeine (or in my case, lots!)

  • Keep work at work

  • Devote specific hours to tasks

What do you do to stay focused and avoid getting distracted by squirrels?

Take care,
Brian

Sort:  

Hey, @brian.rrr

When I was cranking out newspapers, the way I kept focused was attempting to do the most amount of work in the least amount of time. I had deadlines, and they had to be met each week, which met I had specific times the layout process had to be started, so I could finish. There was only so much streamlining and automation I could do and what was left was the absolute minimum time it would take.

So, I would often split the work into a four hour increment the day before, and then the other seven to eight hours on deadline day. That was partly out of necessity, but it became my preferred workflow. And it worked for several years.

I've never been a true multitasker (I'm not sure anyone is), so, sticking as much as I can to one project at time, but pushing through those projects as efficiently as possible has worked for me. Lists haven't ever been that effective for me, but following a routine has.

I would say keeping work at work has helped, too, except I've been working from home essentially since 2003. I do have my own office, though, so it can stay out here. :)

Even so, I can be on my way from one browser to the next to check out some information, get distracted, and then not remember for a minute or so what I was going to do. It's like a total brain reset that has to go through the rebooting process. I generally remember when it's done, but it's aggravating just sitting there thrumming the keyboard expecting for recall to kick in. :)

Good stuff and thanks for the tips my friend.... wise advice!

For me a To Do list is foundational!!!

If you get distracted by a squirrel you may be nuts. 🥜

Really great article sir @brain.rrr. You have exposed the original focus. I appreciate your great thought. I also believe distractions is cause of all destructions. We should control it.

Minimize multitasking is fundamental to men. By the way their brains are made, men were not built to multitasking, while women, with much more connections between the left and right side of the brain, are made to multitasking.

Hello Friend how are you? I do not have squirrels around but what about the squirrel caused me a lot of grace hahahahahaha

I must work in a quiet place so I can concentrate clearly, you can not do it because you are in an office but I work at home and that works for me

If there is a lot of noise around me I get distracted but that can not be avoided in the same way our body works so what we can do is maybe to do our part but it is very difficult

Greetings to your beautiful family

I think I saw this joke of the squirrel hahaha and the truth is that it caused me a lot of laughter you have a lot of reason it is very difficult to concentrate again after a joke like this

There are days where we are distracted more than usual these things happen but they are right there are a series of steps to follow to make this change and we can be more focused and not spend much time in squirrel mode @brian.rrr

Hahahaha is the first time I hear something with squirrels is good

I tend to distract myself a little if I'm full at work I think the chances of being distracted are few but if it happens to me frequently it is that when speaking if they interrupt me, I lose the concentration

I know there are some methods but I have not tried any yet, although I used to drink a lot of coffee, I'm already leaving it

you really doing focus in your original work always. i believe your best thought.its anytime respectable. believe distractions is cause of all destructions. We should control it. I see many squirrel in our nearest garden in my house. truth is to stay focus and be distracted by something Is difficult.thanks to sharing for your good post and great idea anylysis.very well done.may god bless you..my dear friend @brian.rrr

Distractions is the mother of procratinating , it's so bad and as little as it is in the present, can destroy the big future... Well done @brian.rrr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10