You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How do you stay focused when - SQUIRREL!

in #focus6 years ago

Hey, @brian.rrr

When I was cranking out newspapers, the way I kept focused was attempting to do the most amount of work in the least amount of time. I had deadlines, and they had to be met each week, which met I had specific times the layout process had to be started, so I could finish. There was only so much streamlining and automation I could do and what was left was the absolute minimum time it would take.

So, I would often split the work into a four hour increment the day before, and then the other seven to eight hours on deadline day. That was partly out of necessity, but it became my preferred workflow. And it worked for several years.

I've never been a true multitasker (I'm not sure anyone is), so, sticking as much as I can to one project at time, but pushing through those projects as efficiently as possible has worked for me. Lists haven't ever been that effective for me, but following a routine has.

I would say keeping work at work has helped, too, except I've been working from home essentially since 2003. I do have my own office, though, so it can stay out here. :)

Even so, I can be on my way from one browser to the next to check out some information, get distracted, and then not remember for a minute or so what I was going to do. It's like a total brain reset that has to go through the rebooting process. I generally remember when it's done, but it's aggravating just sitting there thrumming the keyboard expecting for recall to kick in. :)

Sort:  

Good stuff and thanks for the tips my friend.... wise advice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83