You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FOMO IRL

in #fomo5 years ago (edited)

The price of concert tickets is out of control here in the States and the extortionists that you describe add significantly to those inflated prices. I've seen mediocre tickets for legends (like the Stones) go for $300+. It's such a racket but FOMO is strong and the prices just keep going higher.

I saw Metallica in Cleveland in the early 1990's (Black album tour) and it was an amazing show. A couple of them had the flu but a doctor back stage gave them a shot (of what I don't know) and they killed it.

Sort:  

Yes, they're insane here, too :/ There was this one lady trying to sell two tix cause she could no longer make it and the price was pretty huge, and people actually accused her of being the extortionist when it said clearly on the ticket that that's how much she herself had paid. It's crazy, as these huge bands don't really need that much money.
Seems to me bands should always try to stay affordable for their fans, you know?
But it seems the bigger they get, the more they want. We have local bands who have prices like $10 (maybe less) per ticket and they seem to be doing pretty alright.

Really? That is so awesome (and that is such a good album <3). Yeah, I've heard they're (or were) a great show - I think that's what's driving all the present FOMO.

Yeah, the big bands have either gotten super greedy or they have to pay so many other entities that things have spiraled out of control. I just read that Stones tickets are going for as much as $1,600 apiece.

I honestly can't name one band that I would pay that much to see.

A friend of mine and I drove up to Cleveland in '91 (I think) to see Metallica. Lars' drum kit was in a cage that rotated and was suspended in the air. Pretty wild night.

Me neither :)) I would've said Motorhead, would've gladly given a kidney for that, but that's just the thing. They had a rule about staying affordable for their fans, even though they were who they were. So I don't really think a ticket would ever cost that much, if they could help it.

Yeah, they do have to pay others, I suppose, that's a good point. Yet, some big bands are affordable while others are just absurdly overpriced. Makes you wonder..

That is such a cool story :O Sounds like one of those once in a lifetime things, I love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63432.48
ETH 3063.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81