ADSactly Food - 🍰Chai Tea Tray Bake🍰

in #food6 years ago

cover working file.jpg

Welcome to your weekly ADSactly food post. This week our featured recipe is inspired by the flavours spoken of in last week's Asian Butternut Soup. Technically speaking this recipe leans more towards India than Thailand, but both draw roots from my crazy obsession with curry.

IMG_2944.jpg

This tray bake is inspired by the warming aromatics of chai tea. Cinnamon, cardamom, coconut and ginger take centre stage in this sponge like bake. It has the most wonderfully moist and springy texture, similar to carrot cake. The spicy ginger and smooth round flavours of cinnamon and cardamom create the most divine amalgamation of The East. I have never been to India, but have heard about the legendary chai tea stands. My tea drawer is never without a good chai tea, and I love a piping hot cup with a small dash of almond milk.

IMG_2949.jpg

The cake is topped with crunchy almonds and shaved coconut, giving it an amazing texture. Drizzled with a ginger syrup that soaks into the sponge, it is reminiscent of a good Malva pudding. Served hot or cold, and with a nice strong coffee, you will definitely be coming back for seconds.

IMG_2952.jpg

I was surprised at how uncomplicated this recipe is, and love how quickly it can be whipped up. Adapted from a BBC recipe, this is my version of a Chai Tea Tray Bake. Read along and see how simple it is to make:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 100ml canola oil
  • 300ml coconut milk
  • 4 eggs
  • 280g brown sugar
  • 250g self raising flour
  • 75g shaved coconut flakes (the large ones)
  • 1 t ground ginger
  • 1 t ground cinnamon
  • ¼ t nutmeg
  • ¼ t ground cloves
  • 10 cardamom pods
  • 4 T ginger syrup (recipe below)

Topping:

  • 4 T coconut milk
  • 150g icing sugar
  • handful of almonds, chopped roughly
  • 1/2 cup shaved coconut flakes

IMG_2974.jpg

METHOD:

Preheat the oven to 180'C / 356'F, and grease a rectangular baking tin with a little oil. Line the tin with baking paper.

In a jug, whisk the oil, coconut milk and eggs together. Shell the cardamom pods, and bash the seeds in a mortar and pestle. In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar and spices (including cardamom).

IMG_2977.jpg

Pour the oil mixture into the bowl of dry ingredients, and mix well. I find it best to pour the liquid in three batches, mixing with a spatula as you go. The batter will be quite runny. Pour the batter into the tin, making sure to get every last drop.

IMG_2980.jpg

Bake for about twenty-five minutes. The cake is ready a skewer comes out clean. Rest the cake on a wire rack for fifteen minutes, and make the ginger syrup in the meantime. (recipe below)

IMG_2982.jpg

Ginger Syrup:

Mix half a cup of sugar with half a cup of water on the stove, in a small saucepan. Once the sugar has dissolved, add either 1 T of powdered ginger, or one finger sized piece of ginger, peeled and sliced thinly. Leave the ginger in the saucepan while it simmers at a very low heat for about twenty minutes. Remove the ginger pieces, and strain the liquid into a jug

Pour the ginger syrup over the cake and let it soak in completely. Leave the cake to cool.

IMG_2970.jpg

Once cooled, mix the coconut milk and icing sugar to make a glossy icing. Drizzle it all over the cake in a squiggly manner. Before it sets, toss the sliced almonds and coconut slivers on the cake as a final touch.

Serve warm or cool, and don't forget your big mug of tea or coffee. YUMMO!

IMG_2983.jpg

I hope you have enjoyed this delicious recipe, and photos. Please let me know in the comments if you do have any requests, I especially enjoy food from other countries and cultures, as I get to expand my culinary skills this way.

IMG_2957.jpg

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

CLICK HERE TO JOIN OUR DISCORD

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Sort:  

As before, you share a great recipe. For me, your recipes are a sign of quality. Most of all I like that you are a culinary ekperementatorom (or not?). You take excellent recipes and you make your decisions in them. That is, I like that during cooking you do not always follow the pattern.

Today's dish looks really appetizing. It is a diverse and appetizing cake that is mandatory for consumption with a cup of strong coffee or good tea. I love coconut and so the coconut chips for me add an appetite dish. The recipe was not difficult. Thanks to a detailed description of it can make many.
The photos are appetizing. I hope it smells just as delicious as it looks.
Do you collect recipes from different countries and cultures?

Hi @frank1in! Nice to see you friend :)

Do you mean that I experiment? If so, yes, its really exciting to try new recipes for me.

I also love coconut, i eat in my oatmeal every day

And yes, I lovvvve recipes from other countries, it's really something fun for me

Ah, another Chai lover....... Nice!!!! In my introduction I write about my dream to get my Chai shop back on the road. I love to find and try new recipes. On my Pinterest acount I have soo many lovely beverages and food recipes that contain Chai Masala that I have not managed to try them all.
And because taste differs, I always claim to have the worlds second best Chai,, to keep room for improvement...
And, it gives me the chance to drink another cup of positivitea!!!!!

hehe POSITIVITEA. I like it!

Your sentiments are good, love that you are keeping space for improvement, let me know next time you find the best chai tea xx

Man that looks yummy! I'm pretty sure I could gain weight just looking at those pictures.

Thanks for a truly lovely post with divine pictures!

haha, don't worry about it, I will gain the weight as I will have to "taste" the cake... just to make sure it is edible!

Looks amazing!! Although I would love to see a vegan option in the future :)

hi @lola.cole Thank you very much. I thought about that too. I was wondering if I could replace the eggs with bananas, or if it would be too dense. What do you think?

Really very delicious food and thanks for good recipe

Wow, what a delucious recipe! Though I had compeleted my dinner recently but I am feeling hungry.I can't wait to eat it.Thanks for sharing these excellent recipe sir.

pleasure! glad you enjoyed xx

This sounds delicious and the images are giving me cravings! I love all things chai tea so I'm definitely adding this recipe to my list of things to try. Thanks for sharing! ❤️️

thank you very much for your lovely comment xx

Now that's looking exactly too yummy.... I do appreciate the fact that you take some time out to write out the procedure for it's making; that's credible, much love @joyart

thank you very much @joyart x

You're welcome

Very well presented recipe! I love hour style 👍

thank you so much. I have been working on my photo taking skills xx

Thanks for very good recipe fo sure I will try to do it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54