ADSactly Food - Winter Cous Cous Salad

in #food6 years ago

cover working file.jpg

Happy Weekend, Steemians! I am very excited to share with you one of my very own recipes, that over time I have tweaked and perfected until it has become one of my favourite recipes, and one I am most proud of. I make it often in winter, as it's lovely and light, but very warming and comforting at the same time.

IMG_4047.jpg

I was inspired to make this one Christmas as a stuffing to accompany my roasted chicken. It started with a bit more heavy flavours, like sage, and I had walnuts instead of the pumpkin seeds, but I liked the texture of the butternut squash and cous cous, so I did some experimentation to see what I could do to make it slightly lighter.

Of course cranberries are very Christmassy, but they added quite a lot of sweetness, along with the butternut, and so I added the salty feta cheese and smokey bacon. I think the juxtaposition of the smokey bacon and jammy cranberries is so amazing, and the herbs add such a lovely lightness. I am totally in love with this dish, and hope you love it too!

IMG_4045.jpg

Let's make salad!

Serves Four as a Main, Serves Six to Eight as a Side or Starter
Prep 15 minutes
Assembly 5 minutes

INGREDIENTS:

  • 800g Butternut, cubed
  • Large Handful Basil, finely chopped
  • Small Handful Rocket, finely chopped
  • 20g Chives, finely chopped. (Approximately a quarter of an 80g punnet)
  • 200g Bacon, cubed
  • 50g Pumpkin Seeds
  • 1 1/2 cup Uncooked Cous Cous Grains
  • Chilli Flakes, to taste,
  • Two Wheels Soft Feta Cheese
  • 100g cranberries,
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil

IMG_4051.jpg

IMG_4040.jpg

METHOD:

Preheat your oven to the grill setting. Boil a salted pot of water and cook the butternut to al dente. In the meantime, chop your herbs finely.

Once cooked, place your butternut on a roasting tray, and season with salt, pepper and chilli flakes. I am quite heavy handed with the chilli flakes, but this will come down to your personal taste. Drizzle the butternut with a bit of olive oil, toss and grill until golden with some crispy pieces.

IMG_4052.jpg

IMG_4038.jpg

In another smaller pan, grill your bacon cubes until just crispy. Don’t be like me and forget them while you’re day dreaming at the window.

Boil the kettle, and add boiling water to the uncooked cous cous. I like to mix in a bit of salt and pepper to the uncooked grains, to ensure a nice even seasoning. Cover and leave while you place your pumpkin seeds in small roasting pan.

By this time the bacon and butternut should be sufficiently roasted. Remove from oven, and set down to cool for a few minutes.

IMG_4037.jpg

IMG_4035.jpg

Dry roast the pumpkin seeds for a few minutes in the oven, tossing every now and then to ensure that they don’t burn.

Drizzle a glug of olive oil over the cous cous, fluffing with a fork. You may want to add some salt at this point, but hold back until all the other ingredients have been added.

Crumble the feta and herbs into the cous cous. Mix with a fork. Add the cranberries, butternut, bacon and pumpkin seeds.

Toss the salad well. Taste and adjust seasoning according to your personal preference.

IMG_4042.jpg

IMG_4043.jpg

Garnish with a sprig of rocket and serve warm in winter for an aromatic, healthy meal in a bowl, or let cool and serve as delicious salad at the barbecue!

Enjoy! Hope you enjoyed my very own Cous Cous Salad!

IMG_4050.jpg

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

CLICK HERE TO JOIN OUR DISCORD

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Sort:  

The first thing to note is that the dish looks delicious and causes a sense of appetite. For me this is a good criterion for evaluation :)
I like the fact that you use so many components to create an original range of taste. It's hard to imagine what it is like to taste the dish, but I have no doubt that it really combines the taste and benefits. This dish from the category - "worth a try." Apparently you are very much ekperementriesh with their culinary delights. I'm sure your close people appreciate it :)
Thank you for another delicious dish and for telling me about your personal recipe. I like it

I am not much of a cook ............. so I might not be able to make it but that doesn't mean that I cannot enjoy looking at it here on steemit :-)
Also the this is the first time I have come to know what 'al dente' means. Everyday I get to learn something new here on Steemit, thanks to such great posts like these. Although I have to admit that the idea of actually trying to cook the dish is a little overwhelming but nevertheless if any post can inspire me to it, then this is that post.

Omg. Looks sooo yummy!

Love the couscous and roast veg recipe as can be used for vegan - nice to have a vege recipe that doesn't have cheese or bacon added to ruin it for the vegans of this world - beautiful flavours with the mint, lemon and nuts Thanks @adsactly.

I love all salads, but this one looks great, I love your recipe and you have improved it even more, I am going to encourage it and then I will tell you how it was, thanks for sharing it @adsactly

I will try this recipe definitely ... it looks so delicious .prep 15 mnts...assembly 5mnts....and finish by me 1 mnt.

This is good healthy and delicious food,
i love eating this recipe. and i also appreciate
your food photography. thanks a lot for sharing
this post. upvote and resteemit done.

Nice ..
Great post from you, good information
Thanks for sharing‏..

I am in love with this salad

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56