Asparagus and Caviar for Breakfast, Everyday!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

A4B6 (2).jpg

With our adventures of having an #asparagus crop this year for the first time, I wanted to share an idea about how to use that asparagus without boiling the life out of it!

Good Morning, afternoon, or evening Steemit folks.

Wife (@elfmyselfandi) and I can say that we have eaten asparagus nearly every day for the past two months. To some this might be torture! Not to us, and I dare say it's because of HOW we prepare it.

I've made a handful of posts regarding asparagus. You can find the first one here.

I'm going to show you what a typical breakfast looks like at our home since the asparagus has been around.

I've meant to write more regarding food and stuff like that, and I will have a weekly review that I intend to do on canned, or prepper food for fun sake.

I love food. From a child it's been something that I've enjoyed a ton - it makes sense that I share this with the Steemit audience.

Now here's my disclaimers.

  1. I am not a chef. The strategies that I use in the kitchen are sometimes pretty barbaric, and most always just entirely made up as I go along.
  2. This one could make some people go mental: I don't measure much of ANYTHING. With the exception of some baking, where I will obey the rules in a ballpark kind of way. So I say this so that anyone looking to snag a recipe will realize it's more an idea that I'll produce than something you can write down on a flash card and slap in your little recipe box. (Please tell me that you have one of these, take a picture and post it - it would provide me such joy!)
  3. We try to live healthy lifestyle, and firmly believe that a large amount of butter is essential to this type of life. :D



Asparagus in my Hashbrowns

I start things off the way I do most all breakfast. Put some butter in there (you can sub out with oil or coconut butter of course) and chop up some onions, and in asparagus, and put on to about medium heat.

We don't always harvest the asparagus right when we ought to, so sometimes it gets a little on the long side. We cut down the stems to a good size, then freeze them. The lower part that we remove and don't freeze I like to cut into small pieces, and use that for our breakfast, or potentially casserole, or mixed vegetables, etc.

So far it looks like a clean asparagus shoot that's cut and frozen will cook up just as good as a store bought, flash frozen and pesticide enriched asparagus. I'm ultra happy about this, because it means in the future we can enjoy asparagus all year round. We got a little ambitious with selling some of our harvest this year, which meant the garden provided a decent income on a daily basis for us. However, now we are a tad short on supply, so I suspect next year we won't be selling our asparagus.

Over the years I have changed my opinion time and time again about what onion ought to be used for breakfasts like these. This year it's yellow onion. DEFINITELY yellow.

Asparagus or no asparagus, I like to cook this down until it starts to brown. While it's cooking i'll put a touch of pepper in there. Then we slap some diced potatoes in there.

A4B3.jpg

Share your rage over our hypocrisy now: these are store bought hashbrown diced potatoes. This is a temporary thing however as we now have seventeen 42 foot rows full of potatoes that will provide all sorts of breakfast yummy for the rest of the year post-harvest.

A4B4.jpg

Put some more pepper on there.

A4B5.jpg


That's about right as far as I'm concerned. But be your own person - have it how you like it!



And some of this one. You can use any salt you like really, or none if you choose due to bp issues or whatever. My father has some bp troubles, but swears this realsalt stuff doesn't affect him the same way that other ones do. There's no bleach or added iodine to the realsalt brand I'm pretty sure. We still love Iodine though, right guys?



A4B8.jpg

Then I just keep browning until it's good, and the other bits are ready. This is about right I say.


Of course some farm fresh eggs, and then the magic. Caviar.

A4B9.jpg

I wasn't sure that I'd ever live a life where I could say that I ate Caviar for breakfast every day, but this is the type of baller I am now.

It's called Kalles, and it's imported from Sweden. As a rule you either love the stuff, or you hate it. From the moment I had it I was in love.

It cost about four bucks for a tube, you can pick it up at the local ikea in North America.


A4B10.jpg

The sweeds put it basically on hard boiled eggs and that's it. I put it on eggs period, and sometimes just eat it because.


Alright, so that's how I do breakfast not talking about bacon or coffee or anything like that.

If you found this post useless and annoying, please let me know. It's my first cooking post that I've done that is ultra simple and not packed full of a lot of information.
As always, leave your thoughts, comments, suggestions and the like bellow. I'll be happy to engage with anyone who does.

Imma go eat something now.












Sort:  

That looks delicious! Hmmm cavier eh, I will have to pop by Ikea and give it a try. The asparagus looks delightful in hashbrowns. I love asaparagus! I am also digging the not recipe. My mother-in-law cooks this way and it's so infuriating when my husband wants me to cook something her had at her place. 🤣 But, none the less, it's a gift. Not one that I possess. I need my trusty recipe cards. -Aimee

I love your photos! Now I have to go to IKEA for some caviar!

You've got to let me know what you think of it!

Oh, and the photos i've taken are all with my phone, it's a blackberry priv.

Local Ikea! Hahahahaha

Is that a thing? I thought there were like five of em in North America.

Breakfast looks absolutely incredible!

Its an hour and a bit drive for us to get to the nearest ikea... i stock up when i go. I'd really like to learn to make my own, that way when we have our aquaponics system set up i can just smoke my own

Hahahah that would be so badass. Permaculture caviar!

Right? Awe man there's never enough time in the day to do all the amazing things we come up with! It takes me back to my old desire for a communal style life. There's parts of it that are still super appealing.

Oh are they? I didnt know.. And i stopped following them about a week back. Did you ever go visit them?
By the way.. Do you use whatssapp or signal or anything like that?

I never went to see them yet. Maybe one day. Stopped following as well. They never engaged with folks.

I use discord for messaging.

Yeah, lack of engagement... there was something else I can't quite put my finger on..
I need to figure out the discord thing I guess - will ask wife about it, she seems to be in the know.

Congratulations @brockolopolis! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65