Breakfasting like a boss!

in #food5 years ago

You're looking a one of my secret time-saving devices. Yeah, I know that it resembles a shaker-bottle that one might put a protein shake in at the gym...That's because it actually is. But it saves me time and helps keep me healthy nonetheless. So what prompted me to show you this time-saving device? Well, tonight I was making some breakfast muffins, and morning omelette mix and it just sort of popped into my mind to tell you about it. I'll explain.

My wife and I live very busy lives and sometimes don't have a lot of time to eat properly. Obviously healthy eating is important though and so we have a few short cuts to help us eat healthy foods without it taking up a lot of time. Breakfast is one of those meals that has, in the past, been a challenge from a time/healthy eating perspective and so we came up with this...

Every few days I whisk up a heap of eggs, add in some finely chopped vegetables and grated cheese then store it in one of these shaker bottles in the fridge. Essentially it's a pre-mixed omelette mix complete and ready to pour into a frypan and cook. It then literally only takes a couple of minutes to make in the morning and boom, a healthy breakfast.

We add combinations of things like red and green peppers, onion or spring onion, parsley, mushrooms, baby spinach, corn kernels, ham, pine nuts, feta cheese, cherry tomatoes, parmesan cheese etc. ...Pretty-much anything you may expect to find in an omelette. We add the salt and pepper, sometimes sweet-chilli sauce or a small amount of garlic and chilli...

It's such an easy way to go, is tasty and healthy too. Having it ready to pour into a fry pan means we can cook it in a very short space of time with minimal washing up. There's no chopping and virtually no clean up which suits us in the morning as we both head out to our jobs early.

I mentioned above that we also make breakfast muffins, for a change from omelette's, which we make in bulk, maybe 12-15 at a time; They get individually wrapped and put in the freezer. Each night we take a couple out and put them in the fridge door where they defrost. In the morning it's a great grab-and-go breakfast which means I'm in the car quickly and off to work at the same time as having a great breakfast. The mix is sort of the same as the omelette mix but with some differences. A little self-raising flour is added so they rise up a little and I usually add more vegetables to make them more robust. I was making them tonight actually.

Here's a pic of what they come out like, these ones are from tonight. I'm no chef so if you think they look like shit then you'd probably be right. It's a good thing you don't have to have any. They are really tasty as I add some secret things in there, I could tell you but I'd have to kill you. Nah, not really...A lot of trial and error has gone into the mix and each time...Well, it comes out differently.

I'm a big supporter of variety so we do not always eat this sort of thing for breakfast. I go to a friends cafe a lot, (not as much as I used to though) a couple of mornings a week generally and I often have breakfast client-meetings however we always have our go-to breakfast in the freezer or fridge ready to nourish us and get us started for the day.

I wonder if other's do similar things to save time as well. I'd be interested to know if anyone does and what exactly they do to make morning meals (or any meal) more stream-lined. Please feel free to comment.

Sort:  

Those are actually brilliant 😆 I should do stuff like that but I hate cooking to the point of irrationality.

Posted using Partiko iOS

hate cooking to the point of irrationality

Haha, well I don't food blog much so maybe you could make an exception and give it a crack?

Seriously though, we like these things, and the omelette-strategy. It works for us and to have something healthy and nutritious around the place all the time helps to keep us off bread and sugary cereals. We eat them but only in extreme moderation.

Last year I got hooked on Starbucks egg bites every morning and my wife was with me one day and said that she could try something similar and voila! She made her own version of breakfast muffins which come out similar to yours with no flours as I keep my carbs as low as possible. A batch can last me a couple of days but they are awesome for on the go! Now I save about $7 a day to use to buy Steem instead!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Mate, we sound pretty similar in this way. I agree too, adding the flour is adding carbs but I literally add so little it's a negligible carb-addition. I could make them without and may give that a go next time. There's so many variants to this recipe and no set rules. I spend about $10 on breakfast at my friends cafe; A lot of money over a year when I could eat breakfast muffins at home. Until Christmas 2018 I was eating at my friends cafe 5 days a week for breakfast. $200/month! Not anymore. I think there's financial pain coming here in Australia, and other places, and so we have made adjustments. I think it's smart.

Agreed! Same here as I try to minimize eating out unless with the family to enjoy time together. Need to be smart and position ourselves better just in case!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Smart people will position themselves. Not so smart people will not. Lucky we're a couple of smart dudes!

Posted using Partiko Android

Working overnight my breakfast time is everyone else's late lunch. I've been getting the eggs straight from the henhouse recently.
If the raucous noise of laying woke me up, the egg is often still warm.
I've been having them runny on toast with a bit of maple syrup, but I'll get a little more responsible when my diet starts up again on Monday.
20181012_185051.jpg

Eggs are such a good food to have around. We always keep some hard-boiled in the fridge to snack on or grab as I'm walking out the door for work, on the way to the gun range or similar. Easy, nutritious and tasty.

I sometimes have an American (Canadian?) breakfast of crispy bacon, pancake, sausage, hash brown and eggs with maple syrup drizzled liberally all over everything. So good...But not that good for me. It's a sometimes food.

The MIL did curried eggs for Christmas lunch, like this.

She thoughts she overdid the curry. She was wrong.

I had them for Christmas lunch too. So good!

I actually started drinking Herbalife meal replacements for breakfast and dinner starting in the last quarter of 2018 @galenkp.

It's different from your preprepared omellette and muffin mix, but it helped me lose a lot of weight and I feel healthier now during the day - The added benefit is that it is easy to make a quick shake and I plan on Zac following the Herbalife plan once he's old enough.

I don't always drink meal replacements for breakfast and dinner but I'd say I do about 75% to 90% of the time. But I am also okay with only a little bit of variety so changing the flavors is enough variety for me.

Disclaimer: Herbalife products are not intended to diagnose or treat any disease and the results I got were not typical, results vary from person to person.

I've heard of people saying the same about Herbalife and know a few people who endorse it, and other similar shake-meal-replacements. One of my good friends used to be the State BDM for Impromy (developed in conjunction with CSIRO) and that get's good result apparently. https://www.impromy.com

I like chewing though and am not really looking to lose weight, just eat a balanced diet and manage my diabetic condition.

P.s. I like your disclaimer.

Yeah, I think it works well for me based on the fact that I love drinking cold drinks & shakes, almost as much as eating, sometimes even more - For some reason I find it relaxing.

I can imagine that shakes can get boring for people who love actually eating @galenkp.

I get it...I like shakes too, milk shakes. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3750 replies. Your next target is to reach 4000 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.408 which ranks you at #2208 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2209).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #84.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 13.93% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94