Sort:  

A lot of companies put lactic acid derived from cow's milk as a preservative in their products, like olives. For some reason jarred olives are more likely to have lactic acid than canned olives. Some companies do everything in the same place, meaning there could be cross contamination. For someone like me who gets very sick from even cross contamination from dairy, I have to be very careful. Finding safe olives is not an easy task. I try different companies and see if I like the olives, see if I react or I'm fine. Sometimes I'll have mild reactions if there was a bit of contamination, other times I'm fine, but then the company can't be found in the store anymore. I've had more luck with black olives than green ones.

It can be very deceptive going somewhere and in the ingredients all it says is olives but not the ingredients of those olives. Vegans might not have a reaction like me, but are as much duped if olive ingredients are not mentioned if olives are an ingredient in something. I typically don't buy olive bread for that very reason.

Hope that answers your questions ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88