STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE # 34: Mango/Pomo Tango - My Original Mangosteen & Pomegranate Recipe

in #food7 years ago

I'm in love. This smoothie is Tropical Heaven in a glass. Try it - no sweetener needed!

FullSizeRender.jpg
These are the ingredients I used to create my original entry in “A Smoothie for @smooth.”

I realize that in most culinary challenges, they have all these photos of the step-by-step process. But this is a smoothie, people. You just put all the ingredients in the blender. That's why I haven't included photos of boring things like me peeling fruit and putting it inside a blender. You guys know how to do that.

This is an easy recipe for people who can't cook! Let's jump in:

(Serves 2)

Ingredients:

  • 8 mangosteen fruits (the little purple one in my photo with an "Anime-looking" green top)
  • 2 pomegranates
  • 2-3 large bananas or 6 small ones
  • 200 ml (about 3/4 cup) Coconut milk

No sweetener required!

Step 1:


Peel the pomegranates and mangosteen and juice them. If you don't have a juicer, don't worry. Just get an attachment like this instant juice strainer for your blender. It works great. (You could also use a Nutri bullet to liquify everything if you want to skip this step.) Here's an example of what the blender juice-strainer looks like:

Screen Shot 2017-07-17 at 7.29.08 PM.png
Image courtesy of Amazon.com of the Kuvings B6000 Smoothie Strainer

Step 2:


Pour out your strained juice into a glass. Rinse the blender so that no pulp remains inside it. Now pour the juice back into the blender. Add about half a cup of water.

Step 3:


Cut up your bananas and toss them in the blender. Add the coconut milk.

Step 4:


Blend, baby, blend!

Step 5:


Drink it and do a happy dance as the sweet flavors tantalize your taste buds! You're healthy now - congratulations.


Giphy.com

Sort:  

Congratulations @joylovestowrite! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I have to try this, sound yummy and super healthy 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

You'll be glad you did! If you have any good smoothie recipes of your own, please share them too! I love recipe swapping. Happy to meet another vegan!

Great job @joylovestowrite! I have noted your entry.
I have also followed you. :)

Thanks. Followed back.

Such an interesting combination! Definitely worth of trying :) I hope you enjoyed it ;)

P.S. LOL for the gif of Brad Pitt hahahaha

I know, right? Normally he always plays this cool, smart character in movies, but I just loved this movie where he got to play a fun part: an "almost-ditzy" personal-fitness trainer! Only a great actor can be so flexible. haha.

True! Different types of roles, different types of movies, theatre plays really show how great an actor is. I know about this movie but unfortunately still didn't watch it. Maybe this summer ;)

Yes, you have to see it. The humor is so out there; it's really refreshing after seeing the same old stuff in movies.

BTW, I just made 2 more killer new smoothies - both are vegan, except for the honey ... but you could use coconut palm syrup instead of honey or even stevia and they would still taste awesome. I'm replacing coffee with my new "Hawaiian Peter Pan," which is way better than a Starbuck's Green Tea Frappucino and wakes you up! I added Coconut Dream, coconut-milk ice cream, to it. Yum!

*Also gives you enough energy to continue to dance like that :)

Oh yeah it does! Glad you liked it.

epic, im goin to try that smoothie and then see
if i can dance like John Travolta Saturday Night fever lol


SteemOn

Lovely recipe @joylovestowrite, I have never heard of mangosteen before so I looked it up online... sounds great, I hope I get to try one someday (if ever I am holidaying in one of the tropical places they grow!) I have just one query - you didn't take a photo of the smoothie? I understand you didn't want to photograph the peeling and chopping process, and in this case I will allow it, but the judge really needs to see the final product of the recipe! Perhaps you could make another smoothie and take a photo to add to your entry? :-)

Thanks! I would love to upload a new photo. There's just one problem: I'm passing through India & fruit only comes through the local market. They sell different stuff each time depending on what's in season. They're out of mangosteen now😢. Who knows when they get more. Whenever you see this fruit, you've got to snatch it up immediately!

Never mind... it was good to hear of their existence and I do hope to try one some day!

If you want to enter an alternative recipe for the challenge (with a photo of the smoothie!) please feel free to do so, as 2 entries are permitted. If not, I hope you will join us again the next or future rounds!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62