Let's Eat the Rainbow

in #food6 years ago

Roasted Vegetables in Olive Oil
One of my favorite things to make is roasted vegetables. I like to make a big batch on Sunday night, with the intention of eating them throughout the week. What commonly happens, though, is that the vegetables disappear much faster that I intend. I have every intention of making them last, but invariably, they shrink down when you cook them, they usually end up being quite tasty, and the bright colors are so enticing. This means that they don't last long.

Roasting vegetables doesn't have to be a big production. The most labor-intensive part is chopping them up, but if you work diligently, you can prepare several roasted vegetables in 20 minutes. For this dish, I decided to work with tomatoes, sweet potatoes, brussels sprouts, and mushrooms. I got it into my head that I wanted to eat the rainbow, so I walked to my local Co-Op and bought the ingredients.

In this post, I'm going to show you how to duplicate these simple and festive recipes, suggest which knives are right for each job, and give you some roasting tips.

Tomatoes
Choose four plum or Roma tomatoes that look ripe. They should have a rich, red color, but they shouldn't be too soft. If you can't find decent tomatoes of this variety, then consider springing for vine-ripened tomatoes. To prepare your tomatoes for roasting, wash them in cold water and then slice them into quarters with a serrated knife. Drizzle some olive oil over the tomatoes, and sprinkle a little oregano on top. If you want to add a sweet flavor, you can thinly slice some onions (as I did) and lay them over the tops of the tomatoes before you add the oil and spices.

Sweet Potatoes
These are probably the most labor intensive. Raw sweet potatoes are tough, and in order to roast them quickly, you will need to first peel and then slice them into small pieces. I aim for 1/2 inch. To aid with slicing, use a large chef's knife. If you encounter a thick part of the potato that you cannot easily slice, rock the knife gently back and forth, applying downward pressure as you cut.

Once your potatoes are sliced, you can add some peppers or onions if you'd like. I had some scallions on hand, so I used those. They added a sweet flavor and helped them caramelize.

Next, add your sweet potatoes to a mixing bowl. Mix liberally with olive oil and sprinkle with thyme.

Mushrooms
Mushrooms are a great addition because they don't take much time to prepare. You will just need to make sure you wash them well because dirt often gets trapped in their crevices and at the ends of their stems. Once the mushrooms are clean, use a utility knife to slice them in half (lengthwise). You will want to use a knife without teeth. Cutting mushrooms with a serrated knife (with teeth) will produce jagged edges.

Once your mushrooms are cut, add them to a mixing bowl. Stir in a generous amount of olive oil (they will absorb a lot of the oil) with one clove of diced garlic. Once they are coated in the oil, sprinkle some thyme in and stir.

Tip: Cut more mushrooms then you think you need. They shrink a lot during the roasting process.

Brussels Sprouts
These might be the star of the show. I used to hate brussels sprouts growing up because they were usually prepared in a microwave or thrown into boiling water. It wasn't until I was an adult and tried them roasted that I was able to get on board with brussels sprouts. Try them roasted with the right spice combination, and they are very tasty.

To prepare the brussel sprouts for this recipe, wash well and drain any excess water. Remove the tough outer skins as you would peel an onion. You shouldn't have to remove much more than the two most outer layers. Once you've done that, place in a mixing bowl. Mix with olive oil, diced garlic, and a little bit of lemon juice.

Roasting
Each of these veggies has a distinct flavor, so I divided up two roasting pans into four sections so they could roast in their own respective corners. You will also notice that I did not specify set amounts of spices and oil. Unless you seriously over-season, it will be hard to ruin any of these recipes. The only thing I'd say is be careful of using too much lemon juice on the brussels sprouts. One to 1-1/2 teaspoons should be plenty for each pound that you roast.

Prepare two roasting pans by lining them with aluminum foil. Gently add vegetables to pan, being careful to keep them separate. Roast in a 425-degree oven for 30-45 minutes. When they have a deep rich color with slightly burnt edges, they are done roasting. Remove from oven, and while they are still on the roasting pan, sprinkle with finishing salt. One that I like to use is pink himalayan salt, but you can also use sea or kosher salt if that's what you have on hand. It's important to sprinkle with salt after they are done because adding it before the roasting process will dehydrated the vegetables, causing them to shrivel.

The veggies will cool quickly, so serve them while they're hot and enjoy. For breakfast the next morning, I like to eat my leftover veggies with eggs, a meal that keeps me going for at least four hours.

You can, of course, add any protein that you wish. I mentioned eggs, but for a quick week night meal, you can buy a rotisserie chicken. I use 1/4 of the meat and mix it with Mayonaisse, some currie powder and sea salt. It's delicious this way and will compliment the flavors of these vegetables well.

Frequently Asked Question: Can I use Extra Virgin Olive Oil?
I recommend using virgin olive oil. The reason is that extra virgin olive oil has a low smoke point, so it doesn't stand up particularly well to roasting. I will be publishing a piece soon on the differences between virgin olive oil and extra virgin olive oil, so be sure to watch for that.

Thanks for reading, and I hope you enjoy adding these roasted vegetables to your meals.

Sort:  

Well made as usual, very nice picture. I love vegetables

Thank you. I learned how to make them this way from my Italian grandmother.

ahhhhhh now i understand everything!

I know. I was thinking, at some point, I will have to tell @luigiborla that I am Italian. Sounds like you are from the north or at least spent time there recently? My grandparents were from the south. My grandmother was born in Rome, my grandfather in Sicely. When bringing friends to their house for dinner, I had to explain that the pasta is just the first course :)

yes i am from the North, but i prefer south people

thanks for the delicious food, very nice

You're welcome -- I hope you enjoy!

I just said this to my wife the other day! I was frying up red, yellow, orange, and green peppers and said "Eat the Rainbow!" Great post @laurawhite. Thanks for pointing out the smoke points on the oils, not many people understand that. Glad to see you will be posting that information!

Thank you @iexplore! It sounds like you know your oils :) Glad you think such a post will be useful for others. It takes time to learn when you should use which oil. I am a big fan of using the right tool and the right ingredients for the job. These things can have a subtle effect on our recipes. Do you do a lot of cooking? It's always fun to connect with others who do.

Yes oils and I have had our battles. I'm not entirely convinced they are all that healthy for us. I go back and forth with this. I like what you said:

right tool and the right ingredients for the job

So true! Yes I do the cooking for my family. We have a "home cooked" meal every night. I find it very important to continue, not only for health, but for connecting the family together. Everyone gathering in the kitchen, the heart of the home.:)

That looks good, I'd love to chop all that up and put it in a wrap with some steak and cheese 🤤🤤

i have a project offer for you, if you give me telegram is better, or i write here

Congratulations @laurawhite! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Hey!!! It's nice to see a fellow cooking enthousiast on Steemit!! I love veggies as well, lucky enough to have a big garden at home....i enjoyed your post, love the fact you are using finishing salts....i would just like to share some of my experiences, particularly concerning mushrooms....they grow abundant where i live, super tasty porcini and chanterelles......

anyway, this is what i've always followed and found to be the golden thruths when cooking with mushrooms:

  • never wash mushrooms with/in water. ever. they are like sponges and absorb water in a flash, dyluting their flavour, making them soggy. Wipe them clean with a damp paper towel or use a soft brush. Cus they are so extremly sensitive, they have to grow or be grown in a clean environment, so no need for heavy washing ;)

  • roasting actually boils them (unless grilling at max temp), since their average water content is around 90% and it doesnt't help the flavour or texture of this wonderful ingredient. I've always found mushrooms tastiest when sliced and pan fried at a super high heat with just a touch of oil (save the good EX.VOO oil to dress them when they are done). The idea is to get rid of the water in them as quickly as possible. After that, they caramelize so beautifuly, the flavour is off the charts and are done in a few minutes!!!!
    So you can cook them when your veggies are almost done roasting...Add your garlic and fresh herbs right at the end.yum.

-avoid reheating mushrooms. It changes the proteins in cooked mushrooms and can upset your stomach. Best to have them cold, out of the fridge....

Hope you'll find my tips usefull, keep on cooking my friend!!!! I'm intrigued to see your next post!!! Best of luck!

Congratulations @laurawhite! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @laurawhite! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70