Dtube & Steemit have you ever tried South Africa's Traditional Snack Biltong & Droewors ?

in #food6 years ago


Biltong & Droewors is South Africa's favorite snack.

It goes really well with peanuts, beer, friends & rugby !

Biltong is a form of dried, cured meat that originated in Botswana, South Africa, Zimbabwe and Namibia.
Various types of meat are used to produce it, ranging from beef & game meats to fillets of meat cut into strips.
It is related to beef jerky that you get in America, but the typical ingredients, taste and production processes differ.

Droëwors ( "dry sausage") is a Southern African snack food, based on the traditional, coriander-seed spiced boerewors sausage. It is usually made from dunwors ("thin sausage") rather than dikwors ("thick sausage").
The thinner sausage dries more quickly and is less likely to spoil.

If you ever decide to visit South Africa this should definitely be on your bucket list !


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I'm definitely going to have to try these out! everytime I look at the biltong it always looks yummy! Your reaction to it really sells it as well. Thanks for sharing your opinions @melissacynthia.

You will love it!!

Real South African Biltong is the best !!

This is a healthier snack option as well seeing that it's protein :)

I first tried Biltong a year ago when a South-African friend of mine gave me a couple of slices after he brought some from a trip back home. This is absolutely delicious, one of my favorite snacks ever. I only tried beef biltong but I've heard it's often made with wild game and I would definitely love to try some given the chance.

Yes it really depends on your liking.

I don't like the game biltong that much it tastes to wild for me, but the beef biltong is definitely the best :)

You should try Droewors to it's so yummy!

I will definitely try to get my hands on some Droewors then :)

Ah man! Biltong and droë wors, you just cannot beat it!

Last year after getting quite a haul from my sister, I went through a stage of making Irish soda bread and other variants with thinly sliced biltong and biltong shavings mixed in. Absolutely amazing with bacon and a fried egg on it! My cousin is in Canada and he loves biltong too, although lately he's taken to eating it whilst dipping it in Maple syrup. 🤣

Thanks for showing the world about our local food stuffs. Only problem now is there's going to be less for us when they try it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha I didn't think about that lol!

Wow biltong and Maple syrup sounds interesting, I wil definitely try it :)

Thanks for your comment and support, really appreciate it!

Wow sounds interesting! Doesn't the meat go bad when it is kept raw so such a long time?

No not at all.

Meat preservation as a survival technique dates back to ancient times when people had to travel far distances. Indigenous peoples, such as the Khoikhoi from South Africa, preserved meat by slicing it into strips, curing it with salt, and hanging it up to dry.

Biltong is great, as a fellow South African I can confirm this ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61785.67
ETH 2891.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54