You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Oregon Grape Jelly for the first time

in #food5 years ago

@solominer great job making jelly. I have never made it by steaming, I put berries in the water, enough water to just cover them. when cooked till soft, I have an old cotton white pillowcase that I put the cooked fruit in, I tie it to a cabinet handle and let drain when it is cool enough I squeeze and twist it to get all the juice out, it is more work this way but it is the way my Dad taught me.

Sort:  

@myjob oh that's another way to do it for sure. I use cheesecloth when straining like that but I'm sure any sack, including a pillow case could work.

I think I may strain it with cheesecloth next time so thanks for reminding me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89