You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jamaican Curried Goat Stew

in #food5 years ago

Hello, good to see your post in reggaesteem!
This looks delicious and good to have your recipe - a few questions:

  • how much meat did you use
  • which curry powder (was it a mild Caribbean variety)
    I have to be careful with Scotch Bonnets, too. I saw a recipe, though, where the chilli is just torn in two and added for a while before being removed. I thought I would try that, because behind the heat, they have a lovely flavour.
    This dish looks like it would fare well in a slow cooker, too.

Posted via ReggaeSteem.io | Reggae Culture Rewarded
Sort:  

Hi @shanibeer. I bought a small amount of goat meat. It was about a pound and a half. The curry powder that I used was actually from India since it was the freshest spice that I had in my pantry. I considered using a slow cooker as well but in the end chose to cook this dish on the stove top. A slow cooker would have allowed me the option of letting it cook a long time unattended. I would use a slow cooker before using the pressure cooker method. As it relates to scotch bonnet peppers, I have some hot sauce that I bought from Jamaica that uses those peppers, and even though I love the flavor, I can only use one or two drops on my food. :)


Posted via ReggaeSteem.io | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Do you know, this sounds so gorgeous I might see if I can get some goat meat in the town this afternoon!


Posted via ReggaeSteem.io | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62422.21
ETH 3177.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78