You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Could you eat a thousand dollars?

in #food6 years ago

While I'm willing to pay for quality, there is a limit depending on what I'm buying. The most expensive meal that I have ever had was at Chez Panisse and cost just over $200 for two, including a bottle of wine. That was 18 years ago, though, so adjusting for inflation that's around $290 in 2018. At the time I thought the experience was worth the money. I note that prices today have not actually risen that much at Chez Panisse, which is good since in the U.S. real wages today are about the same as they were 40 years ago.

I doubt that I could spend $1000 on a single meal in Houston. We have some excellent restaurants here, but even our best are known for being pretty reasonable. If I could spend that much, I would not. If I had that much money to waste on meal, I'd feel much better donating to a charity, or buying Steem for one of the many initiatives here.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

Sort:  

I don't think I spent a thousand dollars on eating in Houston for two weeks when I was there last winter.

I went to the Bahamas with my wife and son for 8 days and eating as cheap as we could it was close to $4,000 just for food

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62397.62
ETH 3171.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77