You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nendra Banana Phodi #Food

in #food5 years ago (edited)

What an interesting and mouth-watering recipe!
Can you describe, how these Kerala bananas different than those other bananas generally available in the market? Couldn't these bananas be substituted for these nendren bananas?

Also, do you have any recipe for using the peels of bananas? If so, do share that too some day. Thanks in advance!

Sort:  

Thank you for reading my blog... These kerala or Nendra Banana is bit different from the usual ones. It is bit harder, has got a slightly orange color inside and a particular flavor which the other bananas are not having. Once when I couldn't get these, I have tried making this Phodi or Bhujias with the smaller, normally getting bananas, but the taste as well as flavor differed a lot and I couldn't get even the near-taste!!. These are big and heavy and we get just 4 or 5 in one Kg. (for INR. 50 to 60 at Mangalore).

And now about the peals... I have not tried any recipe so far. But I am not throwing the peals of any bananas. These are rich in phosphorus, magnesium and other nutrients. So I cut them neatly and mix with used tea leaves or egg shells which makes a good quality' home made manure for my plants.:)
You may get some recipes in YouTube, I think...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88