You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 376: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday-Prompt: tiny

in #freewrite5 years ago

Oooh, baby praying mantis!!! What a lucky find! I hope I've never driven over any. Those fuzzy dark brown caterpillars are so numerous, some end up flattened on the driveway every day. The mantis is a protected species here - like, it's a crime to kill one - but who'd want to?

Sort:  

OMG! You have that many caterpillars? I am lucky to find one a year. Watch out for the praying mantis. You sure wouldn't want to commit a crime. I have read that people keep them as pets. Now that is a crime.

I have that many BROWN caterpillars, the kind that turn into a moth, not a butterfly. Monarchs are dwindling, of course, along with bees, bats, frogs, but never the wretched mosquito.

Pyrrharctia isabella, the isabella tiger moth, banded woolly bear or just woollybear or woolly worm, occurs in the United States and southern Canada.

I know all about the, "Not all caterpillars turn into butterflies." : ) I have posted about them in the past.
We need more spiders outside of the house of course, to kill more mosquitoes. LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62584.99
ETH 3171.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81