Black Marshmallows (Freewrite Prompt: Burning)

in #freewrite6 years ago

As a child my favorite thing in the world was to go camping. The whole aspect of it just seemed to be an adventure waiting to be sought out and I loved it. To make your own hiking trails, maybe get lost in your imagination and pick up a big stick on the way to use it for a sword or a wand or even a companion. Jumping from rock to root to patch of moss in your brothers old hiking boots, feeling as carefree as you have ever been. Finding butterflies and rollie pollies and beetles to be the subjects of your court while you search for dandelions and daisies or any wildflower to make crowns with for your queen. Which, as luck would have it, happens to be the same stick as your sword and magical wand. She serves many purposes.

Running back to the camp ground when your mother calls after you that it's getting dark. Roasting, or more like burning, marshmallows and making smores out of the charred, gooey, fluff. Your dad asked you if you wanted him to cook them for you. Obviously you said no because your brothers where making them black as well and at seven your older brothers seemed to have everything together and know everything. Besides, these sticky goodies were the best things you have ever tasted, and you eat three more.

When it gets pitch black and you look around the fire to see the soft glow of your family's smiling faces. Even as a child I remember just feeling so much happiness in that moment. A single piece of ash raised from the hot coals and flew into the deep darkness, scattering into a dozen single pieces. This is my memory of happiness, my memory of being free and being loved.

This is my most fond childhood memory.


Thanks to @mariannewest for the free write and also @freewritehouse for the nomination!


Sort:  

You captured so much emotion and detail in this. I could almost taste the burnt marshmallows (and the chocolate). What a beautiful freewrite. It reminds me of taking our family camping. <3

Did you ever camp or hike along a stream and spend hours moving the rocks around to divert the water in various ways? That was always our favorite thing to do! :)

I did! My older brother and I would do that all the time, sometimes there were crawdads and we would trap them in little rock cages and then show our mom. She would always freak xD

Lol. I was always sure to NEVER freak at all the critters my kids played with/found (especially Jaedin) because I knew then I'd start finding critters in my shoes/bed/face all the time!

Some of my happiest early memories are of camping with the Beavers, Cubs and Scouts. The fire, the freedom, and the enormous amounts of sweets and chocolate my Mum would pack for me. I wasn't allowed to open the sweet box until I was on the trip and she never disappointed.

My best memory was probably the time we went to an old quarry near where I used to live. We didn't actually camp that day it was just an activity type thing. It rained so much we just ended up playing in the mud all day, and when I got home my Dad had to hose me down in the garden because my Mum wouldn't have me in the house!

I'd not thought about my campsite mini adventures for ages, it's been over twenty years now. Thanks for reminding me.

I loved reading this, it's so sweet! I'm glad my writing could remind you of your childhood <3

I love camping with my kids and watching them burn marshmallows.

This last time we went camping there were "wish flowers" they looked like giant dandelions.

I love the giant ones! My little sister always picks them and blows them in my dad's face. He always wants to get mad but then she says that she's giving him all her wishes and so he can't :)

That is so stinking cute! I felt like I was on the Mysterious Island or something. I couldn't believe it at first. But there were a lot, so I let myself pretend I was playing T-Ball with a few of them and bat them away.

I definitely feel the joy this memory gives you. I don't know how many years have passed since this all happened, but it seems like yesterday still, right? The details that you remember, the fondness and respect for your brothers, the activity and the s'mores.

Camping seems to be one of those common experiences that so many can relate to. But the happiness of childhood memories can be invoked from a variety of experiences, so even more people can join in.

I like what you've done. Thank you for sharing this with us.

Yes it does! It's crazy the stuff you remember as a kid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65925.23
ETH 3003.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75