You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Prompt of the day “Cocktail” - Why In The World.....

in #freewrite5 years ago

Oh, I agree! Cock isn't exactly one of my favourite words to say, haha.
I've taken to labeling my drinks like so:
Whiskey = Sanity Booze
Wine = Sanity Wine
Cocktails = depends on which one it is. I usually only make the same one at home though, so, Blue Juice!! :D (blue curacao + coconut rum + vodka + pineapple juice)

I googled it, and apparently we have the french to blame. ;)

Another popular story comes from New Orleans, where an apothecary by the name of Peychaud (of bitters fame) served a mixed brandy drink in a French eggcup. Eventually the drink was named coquetier, the French term for an eggcup. Peychaud's guests shortened the name to 'cocktay,' and eventually it became 'cocktail.'

Sort:  

oh thank you for looking it up. Makes more sense now.

Indeed! The alternative doesn't bear thinking about, haha. Imagining all of these roosters in the back-room of a higher class medieval bar.

Rupert! Your finest cock's tail if you please, my good man.
~Thrusts a purse of twenty coins at the barkeep.~
Your finest.
~Winks.~

I haven't free-written today....... I think that there counts, LOL.

I love when the comments are freewrites. You and @carolkean are excellent at that.

Thank you for reminding me I haven’t bumped into her posts in a little while, timing and a flooded feed 🤦‍♂️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Glad to have warmed yea up 😎

Posted using Partiko iOS

Totally Agree 👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha I’m glad someone agrees with me 🙌

The wifey likes her Pink Juice 🥤 Cream Soda and Fire Ball 😅

Dirty French 👺

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64172.03
ETH 3144.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85