FreeWrite: Stick To The Basics - K-I-S-S!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5496.JPG

Basics

Work with the basics they said. K-I-S-S. That's Keep it Short and Simple. Don't waffle. Don't go in circles. Don't hee-haw like a donkey (ok, they didn't say that). Get to the point. Start as close to the end as possible.

This was the mantra for Presenters. To always be present, know what the point of your talkset is before you shout "mic" and hit that button. I remember, a guest once asked me *Who's Mike?". Mic is just to let everyone in the studio know, you are about to go on air, so to be prepared. And especially don't talk.

We were told that people will lose interest if we lost the plot. Radio was secondary entertainment. Not like TV, where you would make the time to sit in front of it, with all eyes and ears on the programme you were watching. Radio on the other hand accompanied you while you went about your everyday life. Driving, talking to passangers in the car, cooking, housework, radio was just in the background.

The trick was to get the person's attention in the first 5 seconds, or that person was as good as lost. Possibility of surfing channels, and maybe not come back. It didn't matter how amazing our English was, and even if we knew every single word in the dictionary, we were not to be over ambitious with words. More than planning to impress, we planned to relate. We were suppose to talk to them, not at them. The conversation needed to be inclusive and personal. We refrained from saying "you all" it was always you. You spoke to one person. That person, should feel you are talking to them. They should feel you are a friend. A friend does not wow you with bombastic words. A friend was casual and relaxed.

Later on in my career, these were the things I monitored with my team of Presenters. They were not called DJs like when I started. They now followed a given format with very little room to be spontaneous. Songs were picked for them. Cues to talk were planned. Even the duration of the talkset was timed and cued in the programme.

I missed the ownership of a show. We didn't just present, we produced our own shows. We created the show from scratch, we chose the songs to play, which songs came after a talkset, and the content for the show. These days many things are planned out and the Presenter just needs to be the "link" between all the different components of the show and make it work. They then need to sit down with their superior, listen to the show together and identify what worked and what can be improved.

Sometimes we would get complaints that one DJs/Presenter's songs were bad. We always found that amusing, since the songs through out the station were handpicked by a team and was kind of the same throughout the day, with very slight changes to suit the time of the day. Credit to the DJ/Presenter for their presentation style makes the show sound good.

There's a lot more that goes into a Radio Show and it is not as simple as "Just Talking and Press Play", but my 5 minutes is up. The next time you listen to a radio show, you now have some idea of what goes on behind the scenes.

All images taken with my trusty iPhone 7 Plus, edited with my favourite apps Photofox & FontMania

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

Another day another prompt, another Free Write! This is where you are allowed to frolic in the happiest place or traverse into the darkest corners of your mind and then share it. It can be fact, it can be fiction, as long as they are your words!! Many have found a creative side to them they didn't know they had. Please don't take my word for it. Check out @mariannewest and @freewritehouse to get in on the action.

’Til we meet again over text, pics, videos, maybe even coffee - Steem On!!

KAERPEDIEM.gif

over20.jpg

20180516_002249_0001.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Most of the time if I stick to 3 talking points in a presentation, I'm golden. Yes, KISS!

Anyway, I'm bringing today's prompt and it reminds me of the movie Multiplicity where a guy makes a copy of himself to keep up. Then the copies start making copies: "He's special, all right. - We made a copy from Two. Sometimes a copy from a copy is not quite as sharp as the original."

Great movie! Anyway, today's prompt has to do with the word copy: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-266-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-copy. Join us at the @FreeWriteHouse.

Do you have a radio background too @wordymouth? Tell me more 😊

I remember that movie!! Thank you for the prompt

I started in radio. They only let me read the weather report at first. Then I was a full-time DJ and newsman. I loved my stint as the Creative Director making commercials. I probably did radio for about 10 years until I went into TV. Now it’s PR.

Oh coooool.... So nice to meet another Radio Head... and from another country... residing at the Free Write House 😊

Straight to the point is important for sure. I need to remind myself of that all the time...

@mariannewest... I have watched a couple of your videos.. you do great 😊

Is it the same when it applies to writing a post?
Thank you for your article, it gives me an insight about being on live show.

Radio reaches to the masses and even within the same demographic everybody's different. Generally, people listen to radio for music first and then there's the Traffic, News (and now we don't even need radio for that anymore) and of course the Presenters. So, if they are going to stop the music for something else, it better be worth the listeners time ....

But I think with writing, you can go niche, you can experiment. Some people like to read long, thoroughly researched posts. For me, because of time constraint, I like my information in small doses. And with reading, I can choose to skim through certain bits, look out for key words, bookmark it for later...But of course, we don't want to say Recipe for Pina Colada and then go off on a tangent about the fish in the sea... haha

Thank you for dropping in @sherylneil 😊

Oh thank you for sharing your knowledge. Likewise, i would like my writing to get the keywords and focus on it. This really helps a lot. Glad to know about this. Keep it up. Xx

enjoyed your post... thanks for telling us a little about presenting :) #steemitbloggers

So glad you did... thank you reading and commenting @rebeccabe 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94