You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freedom of Personal Power - Day 357 : 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

I totally love that!! And bad friends are a bad thing. I just talked to the friend of my daughter who became a Heroin addict at the age of 28. She said that all her good friends moved away - and she ended up getting some bad ones.
Glad Jules had a big brother who could get through to her.

Thank you so much for your generous gift!! I am going to use it to power up the Freewrite House :)

Sort:  

We become whoever we spend most of our time with, it seems. I hope your friend's daughter has healed. Funny you should bring it up -- if this were a longer story, the brother would have had a backstory on why he didn't finish college--based on a real life friend of our son's, age 28 now, who nearly died of overdoses (twice) in his early 20s but now is married and doing well (last I heard). This is why TV shows like "Ozark" set my teeth on edge. We're being set up to LIKE and root for people who end up in the drug trade, selling heroine, and we don't see the victims of the drug addiction itself, just the criminals killing each other for profit and control of the illegal drug trade. ugh. Thanks for reading and commenting, @mariannewest!

I am glad that your son's friend is doing well. My daughter's friend is off heroin too - but addiction is so hard!!

I don't watch much TV and certainly can't stand shows that make the big business of drug sales glamourous - including most pharmaceuticals.

the scariest thing is how many "nice" kids from "normal" homes get addicted, and how many lives are ruined as a result. Too many of our son's high school classmates ended up in rehab, but luckily for them, they had parents with the resources to get help for them. It's incredibly expensive and time consuming, and if these kids could have had a crystal ball of what lay ahead for them after the first hit of whatever drug - but kids are immortal. (And I see now that I mixed up "your daughter's friend" vs "your friend's daughter" -- details! They matter!).
You'd never guess my minor was journalism and "Verify, verify, verify" was our mantra. That was before computers and internet and reams, reams, reams of words coming down the pike.(Excuse, excuses, excuses!)

I agree with you that it is so scary how many kids get into that crap. And it is available in grade schools. It feels so overwhelming.

And your statement was correct 😄 She is my friend's daughter as well as my daughter's friend. All good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62862.51
ETH 3180.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81