You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why is it so fucking hard to give away money here?

in #freewrite6 years ago

Honestly, "Shitty Comment Contest" doesn't sound like a lot of fun to me.

I do agree, though, on the fact that contests/giveaways don't get a lot of participants nowadays. I host them quite often, but I don't get much more than 10 entries most of the time.

Take this example:
https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@pizzachain/steemmonsters-poetry-contest-steemmonsters-cards-steemmonsters-packs-and-sbi-shares

And that's the case with a lot of giveaways/contests, though I try to boost them a bit and promote them on the discords. I try to make them as fun as possible, but still only get a couple folks to actually participate.

Sort:  

I hosted writing contests, with SBD pools ranging from $3 for a quick story to $20 for a longer one, and the last contest only got ONE entry, so I just quit. I was giving away money, and yes, writers had to earn it by writing, but we have a LOT of writers here at steemit.
As for the comment contest... I missed it! I also tend to say nothing at all rather than post something snarky at the expense of a blogger, because most people, I find, are NOT thick-skinned. I can blow off the insults of a troll. What if a trusted friend starts getting snide and demeaning on ya? Well, you try to clear things up, and if you get thrown under the busy, you get up and move on. Why am I still here at Steemit? Because for every troll, there's a sweetheart. Or maybe ten good people for every shark. I don't do the math...

You'd be surprised. I did it for a laugh months ago and it turned out to be super fun. It's like having a laugh at how certain comments are.

Often when we get shitty comments, it's almost depressing. But turning it into a contest, where people actually have to try to make the shittiest comments possible, it turns it on it's face. Then suddenly, you're laughing at the simplest shitty comments.

I suppose it's a matter of opinion then... :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23