You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: School and the Poisonous Socialization

in #freewrite6 years ago

Did you have this ad in the States too? It's exactly the same one that featured here so regularly in my Australian childhood.

"... the bulletin board in which you post the classroom expectations (no longer called rules, as the connotations are too negative and we never want a student to feel healthy-shame)".

No indeed. We don't want them in any fashion to understand they are a part of a greater whole. And we certainly don't want them to feel a sense of security that comes from understanding the boundaries. Why, that would be disastrous for hyperindividualised alienated people! It might give them fancy ideas about banding together and overthrowing the corporatocracy! ;)

Sort:  

We had a very similar one, no doubt the U.S. version with our own accent, but this was the one I found. First thing I thought of with the "chalk" prompt.
As a child in school my mind often wandered to the children coming together and overthrowing the teachers and administrators, but when I talked about it with other students they poo-pooed me. Now, I do live a fairly isolated life besides my children. Not that I don't have friends, or talk to people in the community, hello, how is it going? but most of us do, right?
Makes me dizzy in trying to think my way out of the psychological that was planted and not my own and I fear it can never be undone and then the self-should's start, regarding love and acceptance of self and others, but there's still anger at being made to believe lies and then boundaries become meaningless, like equations we see only at a micro-level, push our pencil uneasily through the steps, hoping not to make a wrong move--one negative in front of the right number means you missed the problem entirely!

It's so depressing, isn't it. Groups of one species perpetuate this on other groups of the same species.

Sooooooo cool that you had desires to overthrow the system as a kid! It did not even enter my mind to question any of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86